User Tag List

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 21

Thread: Should i sub it!

  1. #1
    Regular Member scott_150cdtisri's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Crewe
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default Should i sub it!

    I`m going to be putting the lpine 9850ri back in to my car and was wondering this, in the loft i have a 2 channel alpine v amp and a 10" dragster sub, i have and these for probably nearly six years now and not been used in the past 5! should i put it in the vectra and will the 10" sound ok? im not looking for boy racer bass! just something to enhance the sound.

  2. #2
    Regular Member breezephil's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    LONDON
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Personally I would say yes.

    The Amp will be fine, but the sub will probably sound like **** for a while as it hasnt been used in the past few years. It will take some time for it to start running in again.

    Describe Boy Racer Bass... Im curious as to what category I would fall into lol.... Boy Racer or Downright Insane

  3. #3
    Regular Member scott_150cdtisri's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Crewe
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    but after it will be ok ?i just didnt know how it would compare to things today as i thought well its just sitting there might as well make use of it

  4. #4
    Regular Member scott_150cdtisri's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Crewe
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    i cant remember how it was wired when it was bridged, to you bridge the two positives or negatives? then connect the sub into the + and-

  5. #5
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    cambridgeshire
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Oh yes most definately, I listen to mostly classical music and that last octave and a half where the door speakers just flap about and do nothing is a must, for Jazz and soft Rock you have to.
    It is often worth rotating the speaker in it's box by 90 degree's every so often as the spider (holds the coil in place in the Gap) can get a bit slack if it is a big weighty cone. I have to admit I took an old Kicker 12 out of the loft it had been in there for about 3 years and it was fine right away.
    I run it on a very small Genesis amplifier in brigde mode and it is fine, does not shake the car or frighten old people and horse but hey.

    No I don't describe myself as a boy racer (nearly 50 years old) but a car without low frequencys, Nah!

  6. #6
    Regular Member breezephil's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    LONDON
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    [quote=scott_150cdtisri;284710]i cant remember how it was wired when it was bridged, to you bridge the two positives or negatives? then connect the sub into the + and-[/qoute]

    Generally, When you bridge an Amp, you Connect the + of the Sub to the + of Channel 1 and the - Of the Sub to the - Of Channel 2 leaving the other Terminals alone.

  7. #7
    Regular Member scott_150cdtisri's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Crewe
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    would you leave the bass setting on the stereo on flat i.e on the zero setting and just adjust treble as needed, also i think there is a bass filter on the 9850 what do i do with that and lastly the gain and other settings on the amp?

  8. #8
    Regular Member breezephil's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    LONDON
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    As Far as I can remember, the Bass 'filter' on Alpines Cut the Bass out, what other settings are there on the Amp, obviously each one has a different thing it can do - some good some bad.

  9. #9
    Regular Member scott_150cdtisri's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Crewe
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default



    i have a crossover which is currently set at 150 (hz) a bass eq at just over 6db and oviously the gain in for setting the sound level, which is the best way to do this. also how do people on the sub down someone told me to get some velcro stuff from b&q which is really good apparently
    Last edited by scott_150cdtisri; 6th May 2007 at 09:53.

  10. #10
    Regular Member scott_150cdtisri's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Crewe
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    also can you tell me how long i will need to buy the power lead to run all the way to the boot, or shall i just buy a amp kit from halfords since i need rca`s as well!, will 6m be enough? i alreadt have the fuse holder

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Visitors found this page by searching for:

Nobody landed on this page from a search engine, yet!

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •