0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

Vehicle : Vauxhall Signum

Trim : Design

Engine : 2.2 Direct

Year : 2006

Default Fixed none working climate control panel + light switch illumination

Hi All,

I've spent the last 4 days trying to fix a problem with my car (Signum 2.2 06) which I've finally resolved so thought I would share what I did in case it helps someone else as the info I could find was sparse.

Problem 1:
    Climate control panel not working. Dials lit up as with the rest of the interior lights but the buttons (AC, rear window heater etc) didn't come on to indicate their active. The dials didn't work either (no fan on any setting 1 to 4).

Problem 2:
    The light switch panel wasn't illuminating although the controls worked fine.

Things I tried:
    -Inspected fuses in fuse box on passengers side (mainly 2, 23 and 25). Replaced several fuses anyway just to be sure. No difference.

-Bought a multimeter even though I've never used one before or know anything about electronics but thought I could use it to test the other fuses I didn't replace. All fuses working fine. Glad I bought one though, very handy tool.

-Removed climate control panel, took it apart and gave the PCB and sockets a good spray of wd-40. Still nothing.

-After learning how to use the multimeter I discovered the right hand side of the fuse box wasn't receiving any power expect for 23 (40a fuse). Read someone resolved this by replacing the relay at the back of the fuse box (need to remove glove box to access). I removed the relays and tested them, all fine, gave them a spray of wd-40, still no joy.

Resolution:
    Removed the chunky cable connected to the fuse box (at the back) gave the socket and plug a spray of wd-40, hooked it back up and like magic the climate control panel worked and light switch illuminated.