User Tag List

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Fault Code PO601

  1. #1
    Regular Member Ben H's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Herts\Beds Border
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default Fault Code PO601

    Took the car to a friends garage to be code read today.
    In the first 5 minutes of driving it stalled 3 times on me & it takes a minute or so before it will allow the engine to crank when it starts back up again fine. First time was seconds after starting it, 2nd was a minute or so as the clucth was depressed & the revs dropped. The third time was whilst in gear & travelling at speed the engine just died.
    It seems once it was warm it is fine as I've driven it a further 30 minutes or so & not one problem.

    The fault code says "ECM check sum memory fault" or something like that.
    The ECM expecting to find it inside the car is strangely mounted beneath the air intake, on the front of the block, behind the front grill. Who on earth decided to put a ECM there

    Anyone with any ideas on this?
    I've given the air intake a good blast with carb cleaner but couldn't find the idle control valve but ruled out the ICV as it died at speed.
    Next plan is if it starts again from cold I'm suspecting the ECM has dry joints inside as that would explain the performance after it has warmed up as the ECM wouldn't take long to warm up & is very suseptible to warming and cooling which is the perfect recipe for a dry joint.

  2. #2
    Regular Member Maddog1974's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Colchester
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    With that code i reckon it has to be a ECU fault, i doubt a dry joint though as most are compounded these days. Isn't a check sum a point in a program that refers it back to an earlier point? Perhaps it needs a software flash from the stealer?

  3. #3
    Administrator plasma's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    On the Forum
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    1
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    368 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : Vectra

    Trim : SRi

    Engine : 150

    Year : 05

    Mileage : 74000

    Default

    checksum is the entire program contents. The whole ECU program equals a certain checksum value derived from some formula, if the ECU program is corrupted somehow from a spike (ie jumpstart or wotnot) then this may be a cause.

  4. #4
    Regular Member Ben H's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Herts\Beds Border
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Can corrupt software be corrected then once warmed up?

  5. #5
    Administrator plasma's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    On the Forum
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    1
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    368 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : Vectra

    Trim : SRi

    Engine : 150

    Year : 05

    Mileage : 74000

    Default

    Not really, if a program is corrupted its corrupted... scratching me head a bit on this one

  6. #6
    Regular Member Ben H's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Herts\Beds Border
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by plasma View Post
    Not really, if a program is corrupted its corrupted... scratching me head a bit on this one
    Lol, I thought the same. Pulled the ECM out the other day & as it bolts to the plastic inlet manifold there was a big earth cable attached to one of the bolts.
    This terminal was a bit furred up so gave that a good clean then wait till morning again to see if it made any differance. Today it only stalled once whilst warming up Thought I'd fixed it at one point.

  7. #7
    Regular Member Ben H's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Herts\Beds Border
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Just for reference this fault was fixed with a reflash of the ECU software fortunantly done at a local independant garage with Tech 2 all for an hours labour of £40 .
    Has been fine for last couple of weeks.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Fault Code Help
    By rmg1 in forum Y & Z30DT Specific
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 3rd October 2012, 21:12
  2. fault code on vec c 1.8 sri please help
    By gavs-sri in forum Engine & Drivetrain
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 10th April 2012, 21:52
  3. Fault code
    By bellsjoe in forum Engine & Drivetrain
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 23rd May 2010, 22:24
  4. Help with fault code,
    By robwilson69 in forum Suspension, Wheels & Brakes
    Replies: 17
    Last Post: 13th December 2009, 21:57
  5. Fault Code
    By fattony in forum Engine & Drivetrain
    Replies: 19
    Last Post: 6th April 2009, 22:24

Visitors found this page by searching for:

Nobody landed on this page from a search engine, yet!

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •