User Tag List

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 14

Thread: I want to install an aftermarket head unit and a cd changer

  1. #1
    Regular Member Little John's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    North West
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default I want to install an aftermarket head unit and a cd changer

    I have a Sony mdx690 minidisk player that I bought a few years ago and had fitted in an astra.
    I think I need the metalic graphite facia adpator to go match my SRi trim, The MD player was an awesome system when I was useing it and it cost a fortune so I dont really want to replace it but I want to have a CD player also I would like mp3 playback so an mp3 multichanger in the boot is an option.

    Does the 06 facelift vectra c have the cabling in place for a multi changer in the boot?

    What cables adpators do I need? I want to have the use of the display if possible and must have the steering wheel controls. so what do I need?

    Im useless I did consider going to somewhere and getting them to fit it but when I watched the guy install this in the Astra and when I removed it there was nothing to it.

    Thanks
    John

  2. #2
    Regular Member Karl's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Sunderland
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    you would need to route the changer cabling yourself as far as I am aware. Fascia adapters are readily available on flebay for as little as £6. It isn't all that hard, I'm sure if you got stuck there will be someone in your area might give you a hand (its a 30 min job inc the changer).

    Personally I would try and get my hands on an MP3 player, sell the Sony kit, and save some of the hassle with a boot changer. (saying that I kinda squashed mine into the glove box, with a little cutting to suit)

  3. #3
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    cambridgeshire
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    I put a CD changer in the boot of the Signum then an Alpine head in the dash with an MP3/WMA playing disk drive in it, I know they make iPod adaptors for the same head unit as well so you could have the best of all worlds, come to think of it they make an MP3/WMA compatable changer as well if your buying new kit. I think MD is going the way of the Betamax though I still have a couple of machines.

  4. #4
    Regular Member Little John's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    North West
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Yeah I know MD is old but I have bucket loads of md's I have been using the format since it came out and the head unit I have is awesome but I don’t want to loose the ability to play cds so I want the multichanger in the boot.

    I’m not bothered about ipod connections, I decided not to be a sheep years ago and opted for a better more robust mp3 player. Yes the click wheel is smart but everyone I know has had problems with them and they phone me to sort them out.


    Im thinking about getting the Sony CDX-T70MX changer it does mp3

  5. #5
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    cambridgeshire
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Ah I know the story, Me too I ended up with a Creative, sound better than an iPod in my opinion, as long as you don't use a very low bandwidth.
    You could of course convert your mini disks to MP3 for archive.
    I think it will get harder to find MD machines as time goes on.
    Ian B.

  6. #6
    Regular Member Little John's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    North West
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Well I am still looking for an mp3 cd changer but I really want the head unit in so I took the old one out today to have a look to see if it was going to be simple like in the astra and err no.

    This is what I have attached to the car
    The connector that goes in to the back of the CD30


    The back of the connector if it helps


    what I think is the aerial connector


    This is what I have on the head unit

    I believe them to be ISO?


    Aerial connector

    And the bits on the back


    I would like to loose no functionality using the wheel controls and track displayed on the screen still.

    I also see the bus audio in are red and white phone connections, would it be possible to connect a phono to 3.5mm jack plug to that? just a thought to get an mp3 player connected save buying the cd mp3 player. the lue connector over to the right is a remote connector and the one next to that is the audio bus connector.

    OK does anyone know what I need to buy, the display thing is just a wish thing if it costs a shed load I wont bother with it but if it isnt too much I will go for it.

    Thanks for the help
    John

  7. #7
    Regular Member danBoy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Northampton
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    I believe the later Vectras require an ISO adpator to connect your headunits wiring to the cars wiring.

  8. #8
    Regular Member Caterman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Here, there and every where!
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : Signum

    Trim : Elite

    Engine : 3.2 V6

    Year : 05

    Default

    You need an ISO adapter harness and a FAKRA aerial adaptor.
    Try HERE for them m8.

  9. #9
    Regular Member Little John's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    North West
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Will that harness still give me the tracks on the display?

    Also do you have any idea what they charge for them I don't want to sign up just to find the price

    Thanks

  10. #10
    Regular Member danBoy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Northampton
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Theres plenty on ebay.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. For Sale: JVC Head Unit & 12 disc Changer
    By stephen_brady in forum Parts for sale
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 5th August 2012, 14:11
  2. Aftermarket head unit
    By Alansvecky in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 2nd December 2011, 20:23
  3. Replies: 3
    Last Post: 14th July 2008, 16:38
  4. Help with aftermarket head unit
    By siross in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 19th April 2008, 12:39
  5. multi changer head unit wanted !
    By veccy22 in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 10th February 2007, 19:45

Visitors found this page by searching for:

Nobody landed on this page from a search engine, yet!

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •