User Tag List

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 29

Thread: VV & Vista

  1. #1
    On a Sabbatical VauxVeteran's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Nicking Ya Dinner.
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default VV & Vista

    Took the plunge yesterday and bought Vista, not got right around it yet, seem to have spent a lot of time getting updates for my hardware.

    1st Impressions..... I like it, it's pretty and more proffesional looking and sounding

    Dislikes, it fannies around wanting confirmation too much, and things like the run command are not obvious at first glance

    It says my machine is a 4.3'r, which isn't bad out of a 5.5 top score, which would require a £2000 machine to touch.

    I bought an OEM, with another 2 gigs of ram, cos it's cheap right now, only hitch, my graphic card said thankyou very much and helped itself to half a gig of system memory.

    The install uses up 18 gig's of HD space, so if anyone is thinking hmm, I'd say go out and get a 250+ drive to put it on.

    Install, all went smooth, formatted in minutes and loaded up in what seemed like 20 mins max iirc.

    Media Player 11, nice sound and visuals right from the off without tweaking.

    Crashes, not had one yet, but I've still to redline it yet with multiple apps and coding going on, so we'll have to see with that one.

    Conclusion... I think it's going to be a must have very soon (cheers Billy, that bung will do for tonights session) with a service pack due around september.

    So, set the moths free and get it!!!! you know you wanna, £69 OEM Home Premium.

  2. #2
    Regular Member bruceybonus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Preston Area
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    i'm getting 3.8 out of a 3yrd old 200 quid machine seems to work apart from the driver issues!..

    yours sounds pretty good, what ya got in it?

  3. #3
    On a Sabbatical VauxVeteran's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Nicking Ya Dinner.
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Core2Duo 6300
    4 Gigs 800 240 pin Ram
    BFG 7300GT

    Seem to have got all the drivers now, only real issue was it just wouldn't let Nero 6 install at all, got a trial of 7 now.

  4. #4
    Regular Member Merick's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Wigan & Preston
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    There's a few things that don't work on vista, and most tend to cause the wireless to turn itself off!!

    As for the confirmation thing.. it's the UAC. Go to the run command and type "MSCONFIG", in the last tab (think it's called "Tools") select "Disable UAC" (on an XP PC at the moment so can't remember the exact titles), After you reboot, it'll stop asking you to confirm everything.

  5. #5
    On a Sabbatical VauxVeteran's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Nicking Ya Dinner.
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Merick View Post
    There's a few things that don't work on vista, and most tend to cause the wireless to turn itself off!!

    As for the confirmation thing.. it's the UAC. Go to the run command and type "MSCONFIG", in the last tab (think it's called "Tools") select "Disable UAC" (on an XP PC at the moment so can't remember the exact titles), After you reboot, it'll stop asking you to confirm everything.
    Cheers, I'll give that a try, the gadget sidebar is neat, likes the clock,weather and cpu indicators.

  6. #6
    Regular Member Merick's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Wigan & Preston
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Yeah, i downloaded a few for pinging servers.. nice easy way of making sure they're alive! Just tried logging on to my vista box here and it wants to activate.... i've already used the code at home though!! I was curious to see what my rating was on this thing...

    Dell Precision 490

    Dual Intel Xenon 3.2 with HT
    4Gb of ram with the /3G switch on
    Nvidia Geforce 6200 Turbocache (cack i know but runs games better than it's old Quadro FX150)

  7. #7
    On a Sabbatical VauxVeteran's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Nicking Ya Dinner.
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Ok, update.

    I've had it for 3 days now, and I really like it, and I mean really like it, game support is a bit hit and miss, but all my hardware has update support, and the application side of it is superb, one example is media player it's now a proper bit of kit.

    I've received about 10 updates from Microsoft so far, and it also finds your other hardware updates automatically, how neat is that?.

    So to sum up, I will give it a provisional 8 out of 10, if it continues to impress a 9 might be called for, stay tuned.

  8. #8
    Regular Member JuzzyD's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Somewhere...
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    [QUOTE=VauxVeteran;277650]
    The install uses up 18 gig's of HD space, so if anyone is thinking hmm, I'd say go out and get a 250+ drive to put it on.
    QUOTE]

    Are you sure?

    I've got Vista Business on my laptop and the Windows folder is only 4GB, and I'm sure that the Vista Ultimate on another machine is 5.6GB.

  9. #9
    Regular Member Merick's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Wigan & Preston
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    My Windows folder is 8.89Gb, but don't forget the other folders and files..

    "Users" - 223Mb Excluding Mine (which is at 4.3Gb at the moment!)
    "Program Files" - Not a clue what size this is after the installation.. Mines up to 5.72Gb
    Hidden folders - Roughly 2.5Gb
    hiberfil.sys - 2Gb

    All together... that's about 19Gb (Theres also the pagefile, i can't remember what windows sets this to as default.. i always stick mine on a seperate physical disk and set the size to 1.5x the amount of RAM i've got for best performance)

  10. #10
    Regular Member bruceybonus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Preston Area
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    apparently the 1st service pack will be out late oct early november...

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. vista password...
    By nikroc in forum General Chat
    Replies: 27
    Last Post: 16th November 2012, 16:54
  2. vista and xp.
    By badback in forum The 'Off Topic' room
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 9th November 2009, 16:28
  3. Vista Opinions
    By VauxVeteran in forum The 'Off Topic' room
    Replies: 28
    Last Post: 12th August 2008, 12:42
  4. Messenger for Vista
    By shan in forum The 'Off Topic' room
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 20th July 2008, 21:53
  5. XP vs Vista
    By Swatty in forum General Chat
    Replies: 19
    Last Post: 7th February 2007, 09:02

Visitors found this page by searching for:

Nobody landed on this page from a search engine, yet!

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •