Vehicle InfoStats

Vehicle : Opel Vectra C

Trim : Elegance Hatchback

Engine : 1.9 CDTi (150)

Year : 2008

Mileage : 190,000

Default 314mm / 292mm brake upgrade questions

Hi guys

I recently got new 19" alloys on my '08 1.9 CDTi (150), and started looking into what could be done to avoid damage from brake dust. One thing lead to another, and I've decided that I want to do a brake upgrade/conversion to 314mm fronts / 292mm rears, as a number of you guys have done already.
    I've researched as well as I can, but I'm a noob, so feedback is appreciated.

I know I need calipers, carriers & clips. Will probably get some used off ebay or something, and get them sandblasted and powder coated.

Do I need anything else?

Some threads here talk about some copper washers, and braided brake lines, is that needed/recommended?

I'm guessing a piston seal kit would be a good idea, just to be on the safe side when getting used, but are there other wear & tear bits that would be worth replacing on the calipers?

I'll get a mechanic friend to help me do the upgrade, I just want to make sure I get all the (right) parts I need.

Pads & rotors
    To mitigate the brake dust problem, I've learned that ceramic pads are the way to go. You still get dust, but it's supposedly less likely to stick to the alloys, and lighter in colour.
    They supposedly also perform better in pretty much every way, though they are 2-3x the price, but it seems worth it.

My idea is to go with the following:

• EBC Redstuff pads (DP31416C front / DP31749C rear)
    • EBC GD Sport rotors (GD1187 front / GD1251 rear)

The part numbers in the parentheses should fit the 314mm/292mm from the '03-'05 3.2 V6.

I have no experience with EBC or any other named brake brands, but they seem like they're decent.
    Thoughts and recommendations are welcome.

Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    16 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

Red stuff front and back and wheels will stay clean for ages...