User Tag List

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: CD70 Sat Nav Post Codes

  1. #1
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    wrexham
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default CD70 Sat Nav Post Codes

    I don't know if this is any help to anyone but you can enter a post code in place of a town on the destination screen. Found it out by mistake.

    Don't put your own address in, because if your car gets nicked then the scumbags could have your keys AND your address. My home address is about 2 miles from where I actually live, if you see what I mean.

  2. #2
    Regular Member Gsi3.2's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Technical directors office
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by siadwel View Post

    Don't put your own address in, because if your car gets nicked then the scumbags could have your keys AND your address. My home address is about 2 miles from where I actually live, if you see what I mean.
    You know what.. i'd never even though of that....what a top idea ..assuming you can actually find you way the last 2 miles....

  3. #3
    Regular Member Caterman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Here, there and every where!
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    I've done the same with mine. I use a Tom Tom 1 for work and a 500 for me and none have my home address set up

  4. #4
    Regular Member Neil's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    The pool
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Don't know about the other GO units but the 910 allows the user to lock the unit with a PIN number, so even if you do have your home as home, they need to have your PIN to get in.....

  5. #5
    Regular Member VXR_DV's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    South Coast
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    I've got my home street programmed in as "home", but not the house number, which leaves a choice of about 150 houses to try.

    dv.

  6. #6
    Regular Member G.O'Rilla's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    On the road
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    My "home" address is the corner of the road at the junction to my house and the house on the corner have a couple of rottweilers as "pets"

    They look pretty hungry to me......... (actually a lovely couple of dogs, but the small dog population in our village has declined somewhat!

  7. #7
    Regular Member benny's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    dudley
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    what really shocks me is you all have no idea wear you all live and need sat nav to get home .... lol

  8. #8
    Regular Member G.O'Rilla's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    On the road
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    I put all the common addresses into the system, not because I am a nugget and can't find my way home (though some would disagree - @rse from Elbow issues, here) but purely to use the TMC to see what delays lie ahead on the route. Saved me a heap last thursday when it made me aware that the A12 was closed at Brentwood. This plus the traffic news on the radio led to a decision to take the A13 and then via Maldon (also queueing traffic at Chelmsford) meant that I took 90 mins to get home and not 2 1/2 hrs.

    I don't follow satnav blindly but use the information to make a decision. A good tool to have (goes with my spear and stoneage axe)

  9. #9
    Regular Member Caterman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Here, there and every where!
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by benny View Post
    what really shocks me is you all have no idea wear you all live and need sat nav to get home .... lol
    As i work all over the place i set mine so as to let me know what time i should get home. I can then let the wife know what time i will be home so she can have my tea ready

  10. #10
    Ex Vec-C Admin Stevel's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Chester
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Caterman View Post
    As i work all over the place i set mine so as to let me know what time i should get home. I can then let the wife know what time i will be home so she can have my tea ready
    Very considerate of you matey. This modern man thing ain't that difficult.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Signum CD70 Sat Nav - Post Codes
    By alhambra in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 22
    Last Post: 6th August 2012, 10:31
  2. Post codes in CD70 NAVI satnav - who has this working ?
    By eeyore in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 6th October 2011, 16:09
  3. cd 70 post codes??
    By pete mc in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 4th October 2008, 22:30
  4. Post codes in Eire?
    By Toe in forum General Chat
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 17th January 2008, 22:42
  5. Sat Nav. Post codes
    By Gripper in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 3rd April 2006, 14:05

Visitors found this page by searching for:

how to find postcodes on signum sat nav

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •