User Tag List

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Fitting 4cd in dash

  1. #1
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Leeds
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default Fitting 4cd in dash

    Hi

    I'm refitting the original 4CD in dash head unit. I've plugged it all in but it says 'safe' on the display - i assume i need the keycode. Anyone know where the best place to look is?

    Also, I can't get the head unit all the way in, its meeting some resistance with about a cm to go. Any tips?

    Thanks

  2. #2
    Regular Member carl bear's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Burton on Trent, Midlands
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    if ure after a key code for it, mine was on/in my radio booklet i got with the car (along with the service manual etc.).

  3. #3
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Leeds
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Yeah can only find a 'keycode' though - accoring to the booklet this is for programming the keys.

    Vauxhall have said i need the 'security code' and i can't find this anywhere.

    By the way, I was told to hold 'AS' down, turn the radio on and then i could enter my code, but it didn't work - stil said 'safe'.

  4. #4
    Regular Member carl bear's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Burton on Trent, Midlands
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    oh right, i thought the keycode was the security code. lol.

    i cant remember how to enter any codes etc, years since i had to do that. sorry.

  5. #5
    Regular Member jamesr's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Lancashire
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    If the display shows "SAFE".

    1.Switch on ignition
    2.Switch off the radio
    3.press and HOLD AS
    4.Swich on the stereo, and keep AS pressed until you here a beep.
    5.Key in your keycode using key presses.

    Ie 0356

    Press key 1- once
    Then key 2 - 4 times
    key 3 -6 times
    key 4 - 7 times

    once the correct code is shown on the display - press AS again

    EASY!!

  6. #6
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    cambridgeshire
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    My code was on the little card (credit card size) that is in the owners handbook wallet thingy. New head unit this weekend so bye bye in dash changer hello Alpine.

  7. #7
    Regular Member jamesr's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Lancashire
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    IBarfoot you have PM

  8. #8
    Regular Member Gsi3.2's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Technical directors office
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by grunners View Post
    Yeah can only find a 'keycode' though - accoring to the booklet this is for programming the keys.

    Vauxhall have said i need the 'security code' and i can't find this anywhere.
    if you didn't get the 'car pass' with the car, with the code on it, you can apply to VX to get another one..they will charge you thou..

  9. #9
    Regular Member parapaul's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    127.0.0.1
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    About not being able to push it the last little bit....

    I have the same problem sometimes, too - turned out to be the wiring loom getting snagged behind the HU as it goes into the cage.

    HTH

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Facelift Dash Trim on a Pre face dash?
    By jordib in forum Vectra C / Signum Car Chat
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 5th February 2013, 22:15
  2. Wiring - Dash loom/cables behind whole Dash
    By Dane-10 in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 51
    Last Post: 6th January 2013, 10:49
  3. Fitting a TomTom XXL into centre dash
    By James2k in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 29th February 2012, 16:20
  4. Dash on, dash off Daniel Son.
    By krisby in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 4th October 2011, 18:38

Visitors found this page by searching for:

vectra c 4cd unit

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •