User Tag List

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 17

Thread: parrot fitting

  1. #1
    Full Member lochgilp's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    argyll
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default parrot fitting

    Hi folks, i was thinking of buying a parrot 3200 system for my car and since i live way out in the sticks i was wondering how easy they would be to fit myself to an aftermarket headunit? I have read brocks brilliant how 2 but that is with the factory headunit, so do i need any special leads or is it a case of splicing into the iso leads that is connected to my headunit
    as always any help would be brilliant
    cheers
    Scott

  2. #2
    Regular Member JuzzyD's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Somewhere...
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    The Parrot's loom is designed to plug into ISO connectors anyway, so if you already have ISO leads then the jobs easy.

  3. #3
    On a Sabbatical
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Cirencester
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    but some vecs have a quadlock system if you have sat nav?

  4. #4
    Regular Member JuzzyD's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Somewhere...
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    AFAIK all full canbus cars are quadlock, I don't know about the earlier sat nav models, but the original question was about adding it to an aftermarket headunit with ISO's...

  5. #5
    On a Sabbatical
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Cirencester
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    opps stoooopid me, really should read the thread first

  6. #6
    Regular Member rushy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Old School Vectra-C.Com. Residing in sunny Leeds.
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by JuzzyD View Post
    The Parrot's loom is designed to plug into ISO connectors anyway, so if you already have ISO leads then the jobs easy.
    Spot on, your new hu will have iso and the parrot has iso as standard so you will just need the basic parrot wiring harness that comes with the kit and no more. The bit hat I am unsure on is that mine is half canbus so iso, is yours full/quadlock and if so do you have to use an adapter to connect the a new hu to full canbus loom?

  7. #7
    Full Member lochgilp's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    argyll
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by rushy View Post
    Spot on, your new hu will have iso and the parrot has iso as standard so you will just need the basic parrot wiring harness that comes with the kit and no more. The bit hat I am unsure on is that mine is half canbus so iso, is yours full/quadlock and if so do you have to use an adapter to connect the a new hu to full canbus loom?
    Rushy im pretty sure mine is full canbus all ive got is the wiring from v/hall to convert it down from quadlock to normal single din iso fittings

  8. #8
    Regular Member rushy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Old School Vectra-C.Com. Residing in sunny Leeds.
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    If I remember rightly then the parrot loom goes on the end of the vx loom and then parrot into HU ISO all the way. So yours will be Quadlock to iso adapter which you have, then adapter into parrot, then parrot into HU, lots of wires but you have it all there so should be no probs.

  9. #9
    Full Member lochgilp's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    argyll
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by rushy View Post
    If I remember rightly then the parrot loom goes on the end of the vx loom and then parrot into HU ISO all the way. So yours will be Quadlock to iso adapter which you have, then adapter into parrot, then parrot into HU, lots of wires but you have it all there so should be no probs.
    thanks mate will that include power to the parrot or will i have to connect the power to the cig lighter??

  10. #10
    Regular Member rushy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Old School Vectra-C.Com. Residing in sunny Leeds.
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by lochgilp View Post
    thanks mate will that include power to the parrot or will i have to connect the power to the cig lighter??
    Now thats a good one. The parrot takes power from the HU but the canbus makes the power pulse so I took the power from the cigi. Doesnt the vx facia adapter take power from the cigi also? I know you can set it up that way but if not just splice into the cigi live. Ps you might have to swap the yellow and red power wire around also.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. help fitting parrot mki9000
    By dannydm1 in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 17
    Last Post: 5th October 2011, 17:47
  2. Fitting Parrot In vectra Help
    By Telboy in forum Vectra C / Signum Car Chat
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 27th April 2011, 18:31
  3. Help Fitting Parrot Handsfree
    By Telboy in forum Vectra C / Signum Car Chat
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 24th October 2010, 14:50
  4. DIY Parrot fitting.... Pre face
    By Rennie in forum Vectra C / Signum Car Chat
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 21st May 2010, 10:59
  5. Fitting a Parrot to a CD70navi
    By Jamie in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 28th March 2007, 17:50

Visitors found this page by searching for:

Nobody landed on this page from a search engine, yet!

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •