User Tag List

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: New hu in the veccy

  1. #1
    Regular Member Eddie Dee's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    BELFAST
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default New hu in the veccy

    Thinkin of putting something like this into my car thought it would go well with the dash ilumination?
    Anybody any experience with this type of hu what leads would i need to connect to the quadlock and keep the display working and steering wheel controls etc autoleads perhaps??
    Cheers
    ed
    http://www.caraudiocentre.co.uk/enla...?product=21582

  2. #2
    Regular Member breezephil's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    LONDON
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Autoleads do an array of Connectors that will allow you to connect to the loom, as for the Steering wheel controls, its normally made by the H/U manufacturer as far as I know - I know this is the case with alpine.

    Nice Choice.

  3. #3
    Regular Member alzsxi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Maidstone, Kent
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Autoleads or Connect2. Try www.lowcostcaraudio.co.uk and you can get them cheaper than Halfords etc as I did!!

  4. #4
    Regular Member Merick's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Wigan & Preston
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Is the HU hole in the Vectra double din or 1.5 din ? I'm thinking of getting rid of the clarion and going for this... http://www.caraudiocentre.co.uk/prod...?product=22609

  5. #5
    Regular Member breezephil's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    LONDON
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Its similar to the Double din Size - but there is no fascia plate for the standard double din size, it means that you need to make your own fascia adapter up - its a nice idea though!!

  6. #6
    Regular Member Merick's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Wigan & Preston
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    hmmm, i wonder if i could adapt one of the single din facia's to fit a double din.... could be worth a try.

  7. #7
    Regular Member Merick's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Wigan & Preston
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Took a look this morning and decided against the double din idea.. Opted for an Alpine CDA-9857R instead... sounds much better than my old clarion!!

    http://caraudiosecurity.com/shop/pro...s_id/4657.html

  8. #8
    Regular Member breezephil's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    LONDON
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Alpine are absolutely superb in my opinion, I used to have the 9853R in the Vec, then I put in their top end DVD - NAV unit, which is really nice.


    Good Choice

  9. #9
    Regular Member ditchp's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    The world famous city ground
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : Vectra cdti estate

    Trim : Get a

    Engine : Dirty diesel

    Year : 2006

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Eddie Dee View Post
    Thinkin of putting something like this into my car thought it would go well with the dash ilumination?
    Anybody any experience with this type of hu what leads would i need to connect to the quadlock and keep the display working and steering wheel controls etc autoleads perhaps??
    Cheers
    ed
    http://www.caraudiocentre.co.uk/enla...?product=21582

    got a sony hu and interface one for mine and steering remotes work fine, can be well expensive though as i was told to buy manufacturers one for peice of mind, might be able to get a cheap one but i wouldnt take the risk personaly, you also need a permanant live conecting up m8, any good installers will do this and give the right advice..
    Midlands Mod Shop - NFFC.

  10. #10
    Regular Member Merick's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Wigan & Preston
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    I had an alpine in my metro (yes, i owned a metro!), it looked horrid but sounded absolutely amazing!

    This one actually looks nice though and sits flush in the dash.. the clarion sticks out a mile. The only problem i've found is that the pre-out's aren't exactly very powerfull. I've tried front, rear and sub.. ended up turning the gain up on the amp and it's a bit better now.

    I can highly recommend it anyway! As for it matching the dash.. looks fine when it's turned off but when it's on, doesn't match at all so i've been using the blackout feature, turns all of the display off after a few seconds and uses the power it saves to improve sound quality.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Drosser Veccy B old hand Veccy C virgin
    By drosser in forum Introduce yourself.
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 27th November 2012, 06:42
  2. Thermostat from a 1999-02 veccy onto a 2003-05 veccy?
    By Drazek in forum Engine & Drivetrain
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 9th January 2011, 22:21
  3. Veccy may have to go
    By bigknill in forum Vectra C / Signum Car Chat
    Replies: 17
    Last Post: 16th April 2010, 22:51
  4. Veccy C to replace Veccy B?
    By gtr1000 in forum Vectra C / Signum Car Chat
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 19th June 2008, 08:49
  5. V6 Veccy-B to Oil fired Veccy-C
    By Alpha10 in forum Introduce yourself.
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: 8th February 2006, 09:22

Visitors found this page by searching for:

Nobody landed on this page from a search engine, yet!

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •