User Tag List

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Halfrauds Free Fitting "bodge" And Pass The Buck

  1. #1
    Regular Member shan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Manchester
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default Halfrauds Free Fitting "bodge" And Pass The Buck

    Well i bought a Parrot evolution 8 days ago and Halfords had to order a wiring loom extra to fit the kit and my CD70. The loom arrived on wed and they phone to say come in and we will fit the kit. I arrived and had a rummage around the store while it was being fitted. 1 hour later i walked outside to see the guy packing everything back in the box. He said i can not fit this as all the wiring will not fit into the dash. So i said what are going to do about that then. He said they will get a company in to do it. Which they arranged for them to come out on the 22nd to do it. They also orderd a new wiring loom as the guy chopped the other one to bits.
    I just hope this other company can do a real job.
    Nothing ever go's right for me first time

  2. #2
    Full Member lochgilp's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    argyll
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    No luck mate but i would never let Halfrauds anywhere near my car Hope u get it sorted out ok

  3. #3
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    carlisle
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default parrot kits- just buy online and fit yourself!!

    bought the colour parrot kit and fitted it to wor lasses MG in less than 2 hours

    And one hour of that was scratching head womndering where to fit the lcd screen

    Cost=£119 from amazon

    Halfords cost-£199

    No brainer!!

  4. #4
    Regular Member solorider's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    swindon
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : Insignia

    Trim : Elite

    Engine : 2.0cdti 160bhp

    Year : 2010

    Mileage : 92274

    Default

    try just car kits in slough,he does plug and play for the main phone kit and no cutting of the radio plugs or anything else for that matter,he is a top bloke and would recommend him anytime,havnt got his no but do a yell.com search

  5. #5
    Regular Member DennisTheMenace's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Dorset
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    I wouldnt let halfords top up my screen wash , i stopped at ferndown last week popped into halfords . 3 of halfords finest trying to fit a phone kit into a ka .... say no more.

  6. #6
    Regular Member shan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Manchester
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Well guys thanks for makeing me fell better.
    I'm just glad they have passed it on. Hopefully the next company will do a good job, finger's crossed eh.

  7. #7
    Regular Member Ben H's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Herts\Beds Border
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    They are absolutely comical they really are. I've been told they have a "black book" and if you car's in it they simply tell you where to go and I'm suprised yours wasn't in simply because there is no ignition supply at the radio to simply plug the loom into. If they have to "source" an ignition live or it has curtain air bags they won't touch it is what I have been told.

    He said i can not fit this as all the wiring will not fit into the dash.
    Did he even try? Oh you said he'd been at it for an hour didn't you.

    They also orderd a new wiring loom as the guy chopped the other one to bits
    He probably ignored there rule of if it doesn't plug in refuse to fit it & tried to source the ignition live but then realised he worked in the bike department

    This is a rumour on a message board for us installers about a well known high street chain but I don't know if it could possibly be related or not

    the company is thinking of pulling the plug on their 'expert fitting' service altogether as the amount of claims/complaints had got out of hand and it was costing a fortune in admin/compensation. Also, how it is causing the company a bad name (or should that be worse name Grin) and they are worried it is going to affect other aspects of their business.

    Apparently last year the company had had to pay out a six-figure sum in damages/compensation within the first 3 months of the new year!! Shocked I know for fact of a store local to me that had to pay out £350 for damages on a BMW 3 Series recently which included scratched trim, scratched A/C control and a scuffed gear knob( Roll Eyes) - all for a headunit fit!!


    I just hope this other company can do a real job.
    I should hope so, it's really such a straight forward job.
    Hope you get your car kit in & working eventually.

  8. #8
    Regular Member DennisTheMenace's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Dorset
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Vectras really are a doddle to work on Would love to see if thier work came up to MPT 1362 standards !

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Fitting a "Working" DVBT Television for mobile use. Decent Systems - A Vx Head Unit
    By Woody in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 22
    Last Post: 9th February 2013, 02:37
  2. Fitting "Standard" Radio/CD to Vectra
    By dc6839 in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 17th July 2011, 19:15
  3. Vauxhall - "Free software update"
    By Ian-Highlander in forum Vectra C / Signum Car Chat
    Replies: 31
    Last Post: 23rd March 2011, 20:36
  4. New "Pass Code" needed
    By Doddy01 in forum Vectra C / Signum Car Chat
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 17th July 2010, 15:55
  5. " Car Pass"
    By d16wal in forum Vectra C / Signum Car Chat
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 12th December 2008, 16:19

Visitors found this page by searching for:

Nobody landed on this page from a search engine, yet!

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •