User Tag List

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 15

Thread: Service Indicators?

  1. #1
    Regular Member robzc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    South West
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    confused Service Indicators?

    My car does nuttin when I press the reset button with the ignition off, no change on the mileage display at all. By the sound of things, this means it's on EcoService - no problem here as it is out of warranty. The car was serviced when I bought it & has now done just over 10k so I want to do an oil & filter change myself.

    Question is, when this is done, is there any way I can reset the time interval to stop me getting a service message in 3-4 months time? I've checked the how to's on resetting the service indicator but they all seem to refer to the mileage related EcoFlex.

    Any help?

  2. #2
    Regular Member m8internet's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Cumbernauld, Scotland
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    If it is on EcoService then the display shoudn't warn you, it will only do that on EcoFlex

  3. #3
    [Ex]Admin Duncan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    East Sussex
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by m8internet View Post
    If it is on EcoService then the display shoudn't warn you, it will only do that on EcoFlex
    Yep, it won't show the mileage remaining to a service (as it's not on EcoFlex) but it will still show a service light/symbol when it reaches 12 months or 30,000 miles since the last service - so this will still need to be reset.

    Rob - I thought the service indicator procedure mentioned in other threads also worked even if the car is on EcoService? I'm not 100% sure though.

    Why do you want to reset the service indicator anyway?

    If the car was serviced when you got it, and you've done 10,000 miles and only want to do an oil/filter change - why not treat this as an additional oil change and have the car serviced as normal when the light comes up? There will possibly be other parts that need replaced when the next service is due - depending on what service it had from when you bought it.

    D

  4. #4
    Regular Member robzc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    South West
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Thumbs up

    Thanks for the advice guys - I was just wondering if it could be reset using the same procedure but I didn't want to test it.

    I'm going to change the oil & filter in any case as well as dropping in a K&N, but as mentioned above I may as well leave the service interval warning as is & get the car serviced & MOT'd once a year when it comes up as the timing co-incides quite nicely - 1st MOT due in the month after my service year is up.

    I do about 30,000 per year, so I want to drop the oil somewhere between 10 & 15k, 30K is a bit of a stretch, especially when I didn't do the service myself, it was done at the Car Dealer's own workshop so who knows what oil may have been dropped in. (I did check after the service, it was actually clean oil & a new filter)

  5. #5
    Regular Member m8internet's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Cumbernauld, Scotland
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    I have to agree that 30K miles seems very long
    However, I've had it from VX that there is NO need to perform extra oil and filter changes, providing :
    synthetic oil is used
    an OE oil filter is used (passed for 30K miles)

    Just compare the price for the oil filter, to that for the one from the earlier 2.2DTi and you will see what I mean

    An oil and filter change on the 2.2DTi would cost about £22 for the oil and £8 for the filter
    On my 3.0 V6 CDTI the oil alone is £75 (8 litres of Castrol Edge Diesel 0w30) and the filter is £33, and that is AFTER discount!
    Never mind adding an hours labour to that...
    Last edited by m8internet; 16th March 2007 at 06:20.

  6. #6
    Regular Member robzc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    South West
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    I would be happy with 30K on Flex service as it monitors the oil condition to some extent (I think? My TDi Golf used to), but on time / distance related servicing, the condition of the oil isn't checked at all, so reagrdless of how / where the car is driven, the intervals are the same, that's why I'd prefer to do at least 1 in between service - this despite the fact that most of my mileage is open road / motorway. I really need my car to last a few more years!

  7. #7
    Regular Member m8internet's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Cumbernauld, Scotland
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    I don't believe the oil condition is monitored, it is how the vehicle is driven, engine operating time (cold to hot), and so on

    I have a relative with the EcoFlex went down from 30K miles to 18K miles within 6 months of purchasing the car
    They were only doing about 100 miles a week
    The car was then serviced at 2 years old and 9000 miles, and it still showed 3K miles to the first service, but I recommended they get it in for a service before the two years was up

  8. #8
    Regular Member sig63's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Belgium
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Duncan View Post
    Yep, it won't show the mileage remaining to a service (as it's not on EcoFlex) but it will still show a service light/symbol when it reaches 12 months or 30,000 miles since the last service - so this will still need to be reset.
    Mine (FL, diesel) is on EcoService (not Flex) and I get the remaining distance if i push the button or automatic if it is less than 1500 km

    Quote Originally Posted by Duncan View Post
    Rob - I thought the service indicator procedure mentioned in other threads also worked even if the car is on EcoService? I'm not 100% sure though.
    It does on mine (but on FL cdti you need to push brake pedal at the end when you see the dashes)

  9. #9
    Regular Member Sundance's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Scotland
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    ignition switched off,press and hold brake pedal, press and hold trip button, switch ignition on wait 12 seconds until display changes, release brake and trip button. Job done.

  10. #10
    Full Member bobssignum's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    polishing something or other somewhere
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Does the above reset procedure also apply to dti engines , have had various attempts to reset mine but local stealers say they need the engine code ,and the supplying dealers just gave us a similar proceedure which does not seem to work

    here ,s hoping
    Driving vauxhall,s for 30 + years
    and still loving it

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. indicators
    By pacman696 in forum Vectra C / Signum Car Chat
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 12th February 2011, 18:47
  2. Indicators
    By VauxVeteran in forum Insignia Chat (READ ONLY)
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 24th June 2009, 20:05
  3. Indicators
    By PTC8 in forum Vectra C / Signum Car Chat
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 11th July 2007, 14:57
  4. Indicators
    By bandrew in forum Vectra C / Signum Car Chat
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 17th February 2007, 20:37
  5. Indicators
    By Hendry in forum Vectra C / Signum Car Chat
    Replies: 25
    Last Post: 6th June 2006, 14:19

Visitors found this page by searching for:

how to clean service indicator vectra c

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •