User Tag List

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: changing radio

  1. #1
    Regular Member LAV6Y's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Lisburn, NI
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default changing radio

    i changed my veccy from a LS model to an ELEGANCE. In the LS i changed the radio, so when i sold it i removed all this kit and was left with it to fit into the ELEGANCE. That idea came to an abrupt end however. The radio removal keys i have from the first fit (in the LS) do not even come near to taking the radio out of the ELEGANCE. Both cars are the same year (2004) and it has me baffled as to why these dont fit
    Also in the LS i lost control of the steering wheel controls and centre display. I purchased extra leads to try and get these working but i was told these leads weren't on the market yet (in 2005) but i have seen posts here were the aftermarket stereo was fitted and these controls and centre display stil worked. WHY????? please help!!

  2. #2
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Kent
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : Fiat

    Trim : Panda 100HP

    Engine : 1.4

    Year : 08

    Default

    Daft question,in what way don't the keys fit?.There's a few choices for s/w control leads,its down to the make of your radio,most of the major brands are now catered for.

  3. #3
    Regular Member LAV6Y's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Lisburn, NI
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    the keys wont go into the 4 holes on the standard radio. It seems like there is metal inserts in the holes on my curent radio and the removal keys wont fit in. The metal, or whatever it is, wont let the keys slot into the holes . It definitely is'nt the keys as I have tried 2 different sets.

  4. #4
    Regular Member Ste's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    ..... Driving the Jaguar XF
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : Jaguar XF 3.0D V6

    Trim : Black

    Engine : 3.0D V6

    Year : 0000

    Default

    Have you removed the grub screws ???

  5. #5
    Regular Member LAV6Y's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Lisburn, NI
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    didnt even know there were grub screws!!! There was no sign of a grub screw on the LS. Then again it was only an LS and grub screws cost money, so there is no way they would have been used on it its a bit dark to go out checking now (to tell the truth, i have had to much jamesons) but i will check tomorrow

  6. #6
    [Ex]Admin Duncan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    East Sussex
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    As Ste says, sounds like you haven't removed the grub screws from the four holes. They are little screws that fill the hole - needs a small Allen key to get them out (can't remember the specific size).

    D

  7. #7
    Regular Member Spikey©'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    In the sponge-monkey tent
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by larrymcgibbon View Post
    didnt even know there were grub screws!!! There was no sign of a grub screw on the LS. Then again it was only an LS and grub screws cost money, so there is no way they would have been used on it its a bit dark to go out checking now (to tell the truth, i have had to much jamesons) but i will check tomorrow
    They would have had the little hex bolts in originally. Someone has removed/changed the old head unit at some point in the past and not replaced the bolts. Yes even on the LS

  8. #8
    Regular Member LAV6Y's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Lisburn, NI
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Cheers guys.
    Can any one recommend somwhere that i can get a lead that will enable me to keep the radio controls and my trip computer. I seem to have every lead available but none work. My radio is a ministry of sound system. I know it sounds ****, but i went for it cause it had a usb hook up and i can burn music straight onto my memory stick and just plug it into the radio. LOVELY JOB, and saves a load on cd's.

  9. #9
    Regular Member LAV6Y's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Lisburn, NI
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    finally got the stereo fitted, cheers guys. i lost the steering wheel controls but still have the trip computer and stalk controls and thats all that matters to me!!! Have to say the standard fit speakers are really quite good when backed up with a better radio.


Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Changing GID to CID
    By Keithy in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 22nd February 2013, 14:36
  2. Standad Stereo Changing Radio Stations
    By Chris SRi in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 6th February 2011, 01:27
  3. Radio keeps changing channel
    By vecy boy in forum Vectra C / Signum Car Chat
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 18th November 2008, 15:15
  4. Changing 215/50 to 225/45 on 17s ??
    By jonesy_ni in forum Handling & Braking
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 3rd September 2008, 21:06
  5. changing radio
    By PAULMAC77 in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 13th July 2008, 20:48

Visitors found this page by searching for:

Nobody landed on this page from a search engine, yet!

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •