User Tag List

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Wipers work at one speed only after dealer got hold of it!!!

  1. #1
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    South Wales
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default Wipers work at one speed only after dealer got hold of it!!!

    Hi All,

    My Signum 2.2 DTI Design's passenger side wiper failed the other day , as I've read in your forums this is a common problem..So I took it to the main dealer to get the linkage changed (cost me £130). My wife delivered and picked the car up for me and they explained that the motor is also playing up but it's ok and just means that the wiper blades when you switch them off are stuck in the middle of the windscreen. This wasn't happening before I took it in and if I want it fixed they want an extra £80 + Labour. Now this doesn't sound right to me , the wipers only work in one speed , super fast !! the rain sensor doesn't work, no intermitent or slow speed, no wipers when you just want to wash the screen nothing and you have to get your timing right to prevent the wipers stoping in the centre of the screen. Personally I think the dealer is taking the p*ss and wants extra cash out of me is there anything I can check like something unplugged or the wiper relay gone missing . Please help as I really don't want to hand any more money over and its spoiling my enjoyment of probabbly the best car I've ever owned...

    cheers
    James

  2. #2
    Regular Member Gsi3.2's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Technical directors office
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Take it straight back and get them to do the job again properly.. if they want money for it refer them to your consumer rights and the fact that it has only happened since they have looked at the car..it'll either be the wiring connection ( as all the faults all point to the 1st stage contact on the motor not being live, just the 2nd stage) or they'll have damaged the motor..

    as all they should have touched is the connection i'd start from there..

  3. #3
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    South Wales
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Update: the wipers are now working as normal when I got in the car this morning (???) very strange , loose wiring?? I don't know except when you turn the wipers off they stop in the middle of the windscreen which is really annoying as they block your view of the road. Have they installed the linkage properly? I know if I ring them up they're going to say it needs a new motor so I need some ammo to argue with ....any ideas?

  4. #4
    Ex Vec-C Admin ed taylor's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Looking Through a Camera Lens.
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : Vectra Estate

    Trim : Elite

    Engine : 3.2 V6

    Year : 04

    Mileage : 000

    Default

    I thought the wipers were "self parking" so they still are not right.

  5. #5
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    South Wales
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    But would this have anything to do with the motor that they're trying to charge me for?? Especially when it didn't do this before I took it in..

  6. #6
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    South Wales
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Hi all, After gettting on to the dealer who I've argued with till blue in the face, it looks like the parking position of the wipers is set by the motor and they want to charge me £150 for replacing it even though it looks like they've damadged it when replacing the linkage. I've found some motors on tinternet for about £30 and was wondering how difficult it would be to change the motor myself . Cos I really don't want to give them anymore of my money!!

    thanks for your help so far..

    James

  7. #7
    Regular Member Gsi3.2's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Technical directors office
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    changing the motor is as hard as changing the linkage..see the how-2 for details..http://www.vectra-c.com/forum/showthread.php?t=15125

    if you've got a moderate toolkit then it's a halfhour job....

  8. #8
    Regular Member Gsi3.2's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Technical directors office
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    had a brainwave yesterday afternoon...the parking position is set by the motor and it's easily adjusted..AND IT'S ALL THE DEALERS FAULT...

    in the 'how-2' listed above steve and i are at pains to point out that you MUST make sure the wiper racks drive arm off the motor goes back on in EXACTLY the same orientation as the old on came off.. What they have done is just assemble the motor to the rack without giving this any heed....this will then affect the operation of the wipers as, they will still sweep, but the rest position will be completely different to the original....

    This also means they don't check their work.... flippin amateurs..

    you DO NOT need a new motor..you need to take the 'how-2' and point out to them that if they align the drivebar correctly it will operate perfectly..

    Take it back.. it's shoddy workmanship of the highest order..i'm also even more sure of the poor electrical connection causing the fault with the single speed operation now as well..if they can get the rack wrong, god knows what else is wrong..




    this photo from SteveH clearly shows the proper alignment you need to have your parked motor set at.. if it's not set like this,then it's not right..
    Last edited by Gsi3.2; 12th March 2007 at 08:47.

  9. #9
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    South Wales
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Managed to take the linkage off yesterday and reset it to the proper position everythings working fine now... I really don't trust main dealers either they're a bunch of muppets that don't know what they're doing or they installed the linkage incorrectly on purpose so I had to pay them more money...anyway all sorted now..Thanks for all your help couldn't have done it without you guys and the excellent how2 post. Thanks again ..

    I'm now gonna ring up the main dealer and call him a tw*t (not twit)...

    thanks again

    James

  10. #10
    Regular Member simac's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Wirral
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Glad you're sorted, some of the dealers seem to struggle with the wiper mec etc. You should be able to trust the dealers completely to do a pukka job

    When mine was changed they put the wipers back on the wrong way round so the short one was on the drivers side - how shoddy is that !!!

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. wipers only 1 speed
    By solidpine in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 15th April 2012, 16:08
  2. wipers not working on 2nd speed
    By Seanyboy in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 10th August 2011, 18:55
  3. windscreen wipers only go one speed?
    By EURO G in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 8th January 2008, 20:59
  4. my local dealer for flat blade wipers
    By kev bux in forum General Chat
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 15th December 2006, 15:16

Visitors found this page by searching for:

Nobody landed on this page from a search engine, yet!

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •