User Tag List

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Signum interior display

  1. #1
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Location
    Somerset
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : Vauxhall

    Trim : Signum

    Engine : 2.2

    Year : 2003

    Default Signum interior display

    Hi guys, when I picked up my signum tother week it didn't have the standard head unit in it , it had the ripspeed DVD player instead , so now the display can't be controlled at all with the buttons on the stick, help

  2. #2
    Regular Member ThatAudioBloke's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    Newcastle, UK
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    20 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : Vectra

    Trim : SRi

    Engine : CDTI 150

    Year : 2006

    Mileage : 103000

    Default

    Can't do much of anything with those - they don't have a steering wheel input on them.

    Choices are: install an original vauxhall radio, or buy a branded aftermarket radio with steering wheel control compatibility and a third party steering wheel control loom and patch.

    At a pinch, if you just want the steering wheel controls working for the display, you could buy the steering wheel control loom and still use the ripspeed one, but it's a bit of a waste of time since you won't have the volume control etc working from the wheel, only the BC functions.

  3. #3
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Location
    Somerset
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : Vauxhall

    Trim : Signum

    Engine : 2.2

    Year : 2003

    Default

    Do I need the correct cd player for it to match the screen? Usually they are all sold in pairs on eBay? Plus the correct one for model?

  4. #4
    Regular Member ThatAudioBloke's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    Newcastle, UK
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    20 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : Vectra

    Trim : SRi

    Engine : CDTI 150

    Year : 2006

    Mileage : 103000

    Default

    If you're going back to OE, it's certainly easier to buy them as a married pair. That way they're fit and forget.

    If you get them separate, you'll need the code for the radio, then have the display married to it which is a bit more hassle.

    Depending on how old your car is, you'll either need a 4 digit radio or a 2 digit radio. You can retrofit a 2 digit into an older car but it's not a straightforward plug in job.

    Generally, if your car is a facelift model, you'll need a 2 digit radio (CD30, CDC40 or CD70). If it's an early car (2002-2004) it'll more than likely be a 4 digit radio (CDR2005, NCDC2015 etc). Some of the facelift cars around 04/54/05 reg were full-can, so may have a 2 digit radio. Easiest way to check is to remove the ripspeed one, and have a look at the plug on the wiring loom.

    If the plug looks like this one, it is a 4 digit radio that you need:
    Radio Connector.jpg

    Whereas if it looks like this, it's a 2 digit radio that you need:
    Opel quadlock.jpg
    (the plug fits into this socket, so imagine a mirror image of it. I can't find a decent picture of one unfortunately, but it looks drastically different from the alternative 4 digit plug)

    Hope this helps.
    Last edited by ThatAudioBloke; 16th April 2013 at 21:16.

  5. #5
    Regular Member Hue Jarse's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Farnborough, Hampshire
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : Vectra Estate

    Trim : SRi

    Engine : 1.8 VVT (Z18XER)

    Year : 09

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by BoostPuppy View Post
    (the plug fits into this socket, so imagine a mirror image of it. I can't find a decent picture of one unfortunately, but it looks drastically different from the alternative 4 digit plug)
    Something like this
    40pinFakra.jpg
    40 pin Fakra (Quadlock)

  6. #6
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Location
    Somerset
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : Vauxhall

    Trim : Signum

    Engine : 2.2

    Year : 2003

    Default

    Thanks a lot pal will look tomorrow morning and get back to you to let ya know

  7. #7
    Regular Member Hue Jarse's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Farnborough, Hampshire
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : Vectra Estate

    Trim : SRi

    Engine : 1.8 VVT (Z18XER)

    Year : 09

    Default

    I see from your profile that your car is a 2003 so it is almost certain to be the type in the first picture in Boostpuppy's post.

  8. #8
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Location
    Somerset
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : Vauxhall

    Trim : Signum

    Engine : 2.2

    Year : 2003

    Default

    Just looked on eBay , the cdr2005 ones come with the small display screen and I have the bigger screen if you know what I meen, and ncdc is the sat nav version which is bugging me a bit, the year of mine is 2003

  9. #9
    Regular Member ThatAudioBloke's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    Newcastle, UK
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    20 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : Vectra

    Trim : SRi

    Engine : CDTI 150

    Year : 2006

    Mileage : 103000

    Default

    http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/Signum-vec...item19db4ebf4d

    That one should fit yours, and it comes with the code. I also remember reading something about the earlier displays not being coded to the radio but unfortunately I can't say with 100% certainty if yours is or not.

    Regarding your screen, it'll probably be a BID or a GID. Have a look on this thread (http://www.vectra-c.com/forum/showth...-Abbreviations) for pictures of the possible options. If yours is an early screen that doesn't need to be married, then something like that CDR2006 will just plug in and work. Fingers crossed it is!!

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Signum Dash Display Problem
    By sol in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 28th May 2012, 09:50
  2. Interior heating light display
    By Elahi_786 in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 28th December 2010, 20:56
  3. Interior display
    By jon ixi in forum Styling
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 17th March 2007, 11:39

Visitors found this page by searching for:

Nobody landed on this page from a search engine, yet!

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •