User Tag List

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 14

Thread: Fitting Hid's

  1. #1
    Regular Member ollie1002's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    northants
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default Fitting Hid's

    Hi all, i know this subject has been mentioned hundreds of times and i have searched through posts to try find my answer but ive now come up with another problem,

    Ive bought some 35w 8000k hids from ebay and they have arrived in the post today, i have a pre facelift Signum 3.0 cdti design if anyone wonders what they are for.

    So i read the how to on fitting hid's with resistors and capacitators which i was going to go to maplins for. now im unsure of how to wire these in, i was hoping i could find a pic to reference to but on the how to the pictures arent coming up. (im a bit of a novice by the way hence wanting to look at a pic)

    Now i also find posts saying about cancelors? do i need these too?

    Ive also just won some led sidelights on ebay canbus error free ones that im waiting to be delivered so i hope i dont get any problems with these too! Theres me just trying to smarten my car up and im struggling trying to get my head round this. ive installed a set before on a 406 coupe and they were literally just plug and play.

    So im putting this out there to someone that has already overcome all of this.

    Thanks guys in advance

  2. #2
    North West - Assistant RO Woody's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    North West (Warrington)
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    234 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : Vectra C 3.2 Elite Estate Auto Facelifted

    Trim : Elite with loads of "Extras"

    Engine : 3.2 Z32SE

    Year : 2004

    Mileage : 94,000

    Default

    Hi fella,
    You won't need resistors or cancellors for your HID's when fitted to your dipped headlamps, you just need a setting changed on your cars "computer". I'm sure there will be someone local to you that will be happy to help. The setting isn't vital, but it does save the need for fitting anything else and will prevent error messages and flickering.
    As far as LED's to your main lighting, you might as well get used to flickering/strobing. Vectra's do not like them and the only way around it is to fool the system into thinking that it still has "normal" bulbs wired in. The only place you can use LED's without strobing/flickering issues is on the interior lighting.
    HTH
    Woody

  3. #3
    Regular Member ollie1002's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    northants
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Thanks for the quick reply Woody,
    So i just fit them as normal and until i get the settings changed it will just show up that there is a bulb missing? and get my computer settings changed? i seen somewhere that this thing to change the settings isnt aloud to be spoken about on here? could you pm me what it is mate?
    So on my led sidelights i have to wire in a resistor 0.33ohm? is that right?

    Sounds easier than what i first thought tbh.

    Thanks

    Ollie

  4. #4
    Regular Member puppet's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    East Ayrshire
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    10 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : Insignia 1.8 SRi

    Trim : VX Line Red

    Engine : 1.8VVT

    Year : 2011

    Default

    I had a set of HIDs in mine for a while, and unless the Xenon option was activated they flickered enough to give you an epileptic fit! Unless you are fitting cancellors, you'd be best having the Xenon option enabled before you actually fit the HID kit.

  5. #5
    Regular Member ollie1002's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    northants
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Oh okay thanks, so the resistor and capacitor is the awkward way of doing it is that right? Would that way work too??

  6. #6
    Regular Member gibbon7000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    lincs
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    On my second siggy, I replaced the hid on the drivers side after a ballast stopped working. Had to fit a cancellor because it was constantly flickering. it solved the problem.

  7. #7
    Regular Member ollie1002's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    northants
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Cheers people for all your help think im going to try get xeon activated on the car first before trying anything else. Sounds the best way to solve the situation

  8. #8
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Location
    expat Lancashire lad in the Midlands
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : Signum

    Trim : Elite

    Engine : 3.2

    Year : 2003

    Default

    Or just buy a terminator set like I did? 10 minute job, fit and forget.

  9. #9
    Regular Member kman247's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    milton keynes
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ollie1002 View Post
    Cheers people for all your help think im going to try get xeon activated on the car first before trying anything else. Sounds the best way to solve the situation
    Where abouts are you , I work in Northampton and can do them for you.

  10. #10
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Oxfordshire
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    13 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : Vauxhall Astra-J

    Trim : Elite

    Engine : 2.0 CDTi

    Year : 2013

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ollie1002 View Post
    Oh okay thanks, so the resistor and capacitor is the awkward way of doing it is that right? Would that way work too??
    Is the kit you bought a Canbus compatable one?

    Providing it is, and it's a good make of HID kit, then you shouldn't need cancellors, resistors, capacitors, etc, or even the zenon option enabled in the car settings.

    It should just be plug and play.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. HID's fitting problem
    By Smudger34 in forum Styling
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 11th June 2012, 12:57
  2. Fitting HID's
    By R-ford_Vec_C in forum Vectra C / Signum Car Chat
    Replies: 38
    Last Post: 11th February 2011, 01:13
  3. Help Fitting HiD's
    By Ginge7289 in forum South East (RO jaqubek)
    Replies: 17
    Last Post: 6th February 2011, 23:21
  4. Fitting HID's
    By Knuckle in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 15th January 2011, 14:33
  5. fitting hid's
    By The Gas Man in forum Vectra C / Signum Car Chat
    Replies: 21
    Last Post: 9th June 2010, 10:04

Visitors found this page by searching for:

Nobody landed on this page from a search engine, yet!

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •