User Tag List

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Brake pad warning light.

  1. #1
    Regular Member Lordish's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Luton
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default Brake pad warning light.

    I have a preface signum elite and the brake warning light came on. The front left was grinding a bit. I put new pads in today but the warning light is stil on! I checked the sensor and it seems fine. Does it need to be reset via tech 2 or would it still be on if the rears are a bit low?

  2. #2
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    This is London baby
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    3 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : Dodge Journey

    Trim : SXT

    Engine : 2.0Tdi (VW Engine)

    Year : 2010

    Mileage : 53000

    Default

    Think they are only fitted to the f/n/s, they normally brake when fitting new pads, it around £10 for a new one or what I did is bridge the wire as I check mine pretty often. No need for tech2 clears it self when working.

  3. #3
    Regular Member veclee's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Location
    skegness
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : vectra c

    Trim : club

    Engine : 1800

    Year : 05

    Mileage : 63000

    Default

    Cut the wires and twist them together is a quick fix

  4. #4
    Regular Member Lordish's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Luton
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    I'm not bothered about the sensor. Just don't want the sign continuously on my dash. So if I cut it above the sensor and tie the two cables together the sign will disappear?

  5. #5
    Regular Member veclee's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Location
    skegness
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : vectra c

    Trim : club

    Engine : 1800

    Year : 05

    Mileage : 63000

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Lordish View Post
    I'm not bothered about the sensor. Just don't want the sign continuously on my dash. So if I cut it above the sensor and tie the two cables together the sign will disappear?
    That's all I did cut it near the pads twist together tape up stick out the way job done

  6. #6
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    This is London baby
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    3 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : Dodge Journey

    Trim : SXT

    Engine : 2.0Tdi (VW Engine)

    Year : 2010

    Mileage : 53000

    Default

    Don't need to cut the wires, undo the clip and put in a thin strip off bare wire bridging the too wires in the female , then just push the other end back on. Then at a later date you want to buy the sensor, you can replace it easy.

  7. #7
    Regular Member Lordish's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Luton
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Many thanks.

  8. #8
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Location
    expat Lancashire lad in the Midlands
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : Signum

    Trim : Elite

    Engine : 3.2

    Year : 2003

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by cliomjh 102 View Post
    Don't need to cut the wires, undo the clip and put in a thin strip off bare wire bridging the too wires in the female , then just push the other end back on. Then at a later date you want to buy the sensor, you can replace it easy.
    This is what I've done,, unplugged the sensor and bridged the connections in the plug -that way in the unlikely event I ever want to refit a sensor I can.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Brake Warning light and display error message , BUT BRAKE LIGHTS ARE WORKING FINE
    By JACKALG1 in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 24th May 2013, 18:56
  2. 3rd brake light warning
    By madvenny83 in forum Vectra C / Signum Car Chat
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 22nd November 2010, 07:26
  3. Brake warning light
    By dandsi in forum Suspension, Wheels & Brakes
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 9th January 2010, 16:32
  4. Spanner light & 3rd brake light warning?
    By simp_2.2sri in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 5th December 2008, 17:32
  5. Brake warning light
    By scar_vectra in forum Suspension, Wheels & Brakes
    Replies: 21
    Last Post: 23rd June 2007, 12:48

Visitors found this page by searching for:

Nobody landed on this page from a search engine, yet!

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •