User Tag List

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: 2003 (53) 2.2 dti SRi head unit and screen question

  1. #1
    New Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Suffolk
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default 2003 (53) 2.2 dti SRi head unit and screen question

    I'm having issues with both the head unit (CDR2005) and screen in my Vectra (model in thread title).

    The head unit volume has a mind of it's own, often increasing in volume rapidly with no intervention from myself. I'm guess this is the potentiometer failing? Is there anything that can be done to fix this?

    The screen has lost one complete line of pixels near the top, and now seems to be blurry when displaying any warning pictures (eg. bulb failiure). Again, is there a fix for this?

    If the answer is to simply replace both units (and I suspect it is), what other models of head unit will be a plug and play swap? I believe that as my car is a 2003MY, I don't have full can-bus, so options like CD30, CD40 and CD70 are not open to me? Would an NCDC2013 and GID plug straight in?

    Thanks for any advice given.

  2. #2
    New Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Suffolk
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Also, would I be right in thinking that my 2003 2.2 dti SRi will have a GID screen fitted as standard?

  3. #3
    New Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Suffolk
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    No-one?

  4. #4
    Full Member Leemarksmith's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Hanging Heaton / Batley
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    18 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : Vectra

    Trim : SRi (VXR Styling)

    Engine : Z19DTH (Re-mapped)

    Year : 04

    Mileage : 110k

    Default

    Is it dramatically high, or mild increases and decreases?

    There's a setting that does it, speed dependant that auto changes volume to drowned out road noise. Try change that first to zero or none etc...

  5. #5
    New Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Suffolk
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by leemarksmith View Post
    Is it dramatically high, or mild increases and decreases?

    There's a setting that does it, speed dependant that auto changes volume to drowned out road noise. Try change that first to zero or none etc...
    I did check this out previously when it first started doing it, but it's definately not that. This morning while the car was stationary on my drive, defrosting, the radio volume began to increase all on it's own...

  6. #6
    Full Member Robsey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    North East Cheshire
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    14 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : Vectra C

    Trim : Energy

    Engine : Z19DTH

    Year : 2005

    Mileage : 131,000

    Default

    Have you pulled the fuse for 5 minutes?
    If it is just a software / firmware hiccup, then 90% of the time cutting power and forcing a reboot of the modules fixes the issue.
    The display could be a loose wire inside.
    I lost the whole of the top half once due to a loose ribbon.
    Dismantle the display - very easy to do, and then check that all wires are correctly and securely fitted.
    If your display has pictures on it as you say, then you do indeed have a GID or Graphic Info Display.

    If you cannot fix it, then swapping a complete head-unit and display would be the easiest, but do make sure you get the car pass code for them.

    Finally NCDC2013 or 2015 require major wiring additions / changes...
    See Kenp's How2.

    Finally - conversion to full CAN infotainment is NOT that difficult.

  7. #7
    New Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Suffolk
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Robsey View Post
    Have you pulled the fuse for 5 minutes?
    If it is just a software / firmware hiccup, then 90% of the time cutting power and forcing a reboot of the modules fixes the issue.
    The display could be a loose wire inside.
    I lost the whole of the top half once due to a loose ribbon.
    Dismantle the display - very easy to do, and then check that all wires are correctly and securely fitted.
    If your display has pictures on it as you say, then you do indeed have a GID or Graphic Info Display.

    If you cannot fix it, then swapping a complete head-unit and display would be the easiest, but do make sure you get the car pass code for them.

    Finally NCDC2013 or 2015 require major wiring additions / changes...
    See Kenp's How2.

    Finally - conversion to full CAN infotainment is NOT that difficult.
    Thanks for the reply Robsey!

    Not tried pulling the fuse, but will certainly try that over the weekend. Any idea which fuse it is to save me trawling through the manual?

    Will also check the display for loose internal connections.

    My understanding was that with the CDR2005/GID combo, the units are not paired and it is possible to just swap the GID with one from the same year/model vehicle. Have I got this wrong?

    Also, I've been reading up on the conversion to NCDC2013/GID, and I thought that as I have a GID already, I would only have to run 2 additional wires from the headunit ISO plug to the GID 32-way connector. Again, have I got this wrong?

    I'd love to go the whole hog and fit a CD70 and CID, but until now I didn't think that was possible. I can't find any info in the HOW2's for this. Is there any guides on the forum?

  8. #8
    Full Member Robsey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    North East Cheshire
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    14 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : Vectra C

    Trim : Energy

    Engine : Z19DTH

    Year : 2005

    Mileage : 131,000

    Default

    Question 1 = Which fuses to remove?

    Infotainment fuses are
    F1 = Head-unit (EHU) = CDR2005
    F17 = Display (DIS) = GID
    F26 = Infotainment System
    or simply pull the battery for 5 minutes.

    Question 2- "the units are not paired and it is possible to just swap the GID with one from the same year/model vehicle. Have I got this wrong?"

    you are correct the GID's on these units do not need to be paired to the head-unit.
    BigMac states "valid display codes EQ,XR,QX,WZ and EU" for use with CDR2005 and CCR2006.

    Question 3 - Upgrading to NCDC2013 / 2015
    If you are sticking with a GID, then yes, you would need to add a pair of mid-speed CAN wires to pins 19 and 20, to go to the head-unit.

    You may also need to add an additional pair of CAN comunication wires to pins 22 and 23 too, to go to the diagnostic socket under the ashtray - pins 3 and 11.

    Question 4 - Upgrading to full CAN Infotainment.
    Regarding the CD70 - if you look at the discussion thread for the CD70 retro fit, then I touched upon this back then.
    I have also created a full pack of PDF documents, covering Programming, wiring changes to the display, wiring adaptations for the head-unit and connectors / adapter plugs.
    I e-mail these out on request.

    Ideally you should retro-fit the scroller controls on the steering wheel and if you have ECC (climate control), you may need a full CAN heater control panel.

  9. #9
    Regular Member TonyP2020's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Wirral, UK
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : Mokka

    Trim : SE - Orange Rock 's !!

    Engine : 1.7CDTi

    Year : 2014

    Default

    It could also be sticking buttons on the RHS of the steering wheel.

    Quote Originally Posted by twiglet View Post
    I did check this out previously when it first started doing it, but it's definately not that. This morning while the car was stationary on my drive, defrosting, the radio volume began to increase all on it's own...

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Head unit & screen help?
    By JJ0063 in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 10th December 2012, 22:07
  2. Panasonic In Car Dvd Head unit touch screen
    By crazy-dee in forum General items for sale
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 20th March 2011, 20:51
  3. Head unit and screen
    By troutybrown in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 16th January 2011, 12:22
  4. Aftermarket head unit/date on screen
    By Jonsey in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 31st December 2010, 15:09
  5. 2003 vectra C GSi head unit.
    By Vectra_C_Chris in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 13th June 2010, 11:31

Visitors found this page by searching for:

Nobody landed on this page from a search engine, yet!

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •