User Tag List

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 16

Thread: Definitive answer on stereo and screen swap?

  1. #1
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Wiltshire
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : Insignia

    Trim : SRi Vx Line Nav

    Engine : 2.0 Cdti

    Year : 2011

    Mileage : 19500

    confused Definitive answer on stereo and screen swap?

    Having spent an age looking online at loads of different forums (and here) I have seen this question asked and sort of answered, but none are 100% definitive.

    I have a CD30 in my 06 plate full can Vectra SRI which is eating CDs. So, I have being delivered tomorrow a CDC40 Opera, complete with screen and vents from a 55 plate vectra (a bargain from ebay at £75).

    My question is this; Do I just swap screen and stereo and all is well? Or will I need to T2 it before it will work? Or will it need to have been divorced from the car before it was removed before it will work?

    Loads of people say loads of different things about this so I am kind of hoping for an reply from someone who has actually done a screen and stereo swap with a full can car.

    I am hoping that it just works as I am sick of listening to crap radio during my 3 hour weekend drives.

    Thanks in advance.

  2. #2
    Regular Member mrk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : vectra hatchback

    Trim : improving

    Engine : 1.9cdti mas remap

    Year : 06

    Default

    straigt swap m8 you may need the digîtal bit activàting but all the rest plug and play

  3. #3
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Wiltshire
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : Insignia

    Trim : SRi Vx Line Nav

    Engine : 2.0 Cdti

    Year : 2011

    Mileage : 19500

    Default

    Sadly the radio I received today is knackered and none of the buttons or lights work on the front and the thing can only be sort of controlled with the steering wheel controls (apart from volume for some reason) However the damn thing will not come out! The removal keys don't seem to engage the little clips inside and just slide in and out. Any ideas how I can remove it without ******ing my dash or the stereo even more? Since I am fairly certain the ebay bloke will want it back.

  4. #4
    Regular Member stephen_brady's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    N.Ireland
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Bad news fella. Similar thing happened to me.

    Make sure you push the removal tools in as far as they go until you feel a little resistance, then give them another push until they sort of click into place. As far as I remember you also need to pull them away from each other a little so you're pulling them out at a slight angle away from the radio, rather than straight out...hope that makes sense.

  5. #5
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Wiltshire
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : Insignia

    Trim : SRi Vx Line Nav

    Engine : 2.0 Cdti

    Year : 2011

    Mileage : 19500

    Default

    Yeah doing that. Same way I took the old CD30 out but they are not gripping and just slide straight out again. I bent the first set pulling them apart to try and get grip on the damn thing. Nothing is ever simple.

  6. #6
    Regular Member TonyP2020's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Wirral, UK
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : Mokka

    Trim : SE - Orange Rock 's !!

    Engine : 1.7CDTi

    Year : 2014

    Default

    Was the CDC40 a tight fit to get into place?
    If so you may need to remove the tray at the bottom of the console, then remove the heater controls, then you can get a hand in behind the CDC40 and help it out.
    The tray needs squashing in the top and bottom before it will come out, the heater controls just unclip and have one connector.
    Did you buy the DAB module as well??
    Good luck.

  7. #7
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    crook
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    as above but take screen out and get your fingers behind top and bottom of head unit

  8. #8
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Wiltshire
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : Insignia

    Trim : SRi Vx Line Nav

    Engine : 2.0 Cdti

    Year : 2011

    Mileage : 19500

    Default

    Thanks guys. I'll have a look tomorrow. Didn't bother with the DAB since I thought I would need to get a new roof loom and aerial etc. I have been trying to find a loom for the centre light and visor mirrors so thought I would do it all together. IF I can find a loom at all.

  9. #9
    Regular Member rozzer2006's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Glasgow
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : vectra

    Trim : VXR

    Engine : 2.8 v6 Turbo

    Year : 2008

    Mileage : 69k

    Default

    well in answer to ure question yes it will work as long as the screen and cd unit are paired, just done something similar to mines, and u dont need a new loom etc just get an after market one, does the same job, just put a cd70 navi in mines and got a gps 7 pound job from ebay and put it in the centre dash speaker hole, sorted

  10. #10
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Wiltshire
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : Insignia

    Trim : SRi Vx Line Nav

    Engine : 2.0 Cdti

    Year : 2011

    Mileage : 19500

    Default

    Well managed to get the knackered unit out of my car. eBay guy being a bit of a dick though. Asking me to send unit back so he can claim on Parcel Force insurance, even though on P F website it says that insurance claims must be dealt with at the delivery address.

    The saga continues...

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Definitive answer?
    By dan21 in forum Diesel Engine related
    Replies: 31
    Last Post: 13th February 2013, 16:38
  2. screen swap
    By rubberduck*2012 in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 17th January 2013, 20:31
  3. Stereo Swap
    By PedroMV6 in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 10th September 2012, 08:13
  4. A definitive answer please! lol
    By DTGB in forum Handling & Braking
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 18th October 2009, 20:23

Visitors found this page by searching for:

can i swap stereo in vectra sri

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •