User Tag List

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Speedo Change

  1. #1
    Regular Member 11mallard's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Selsdon,Surrey
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    confused Speedo Change

    Sorry this is a bit long but hope someone here can help. My Son offered a good job in Aussie Land in October 2011 so moved lock stock and barrel there. In March 2012 laid off got another job but ended up coming home in just before Christmas. Brought his 2008 Holden Astra back as he couldn't sell it and now DVLA tells him he needs to change his speedo from Kms to Mph. Can he just take one from a same Astra and plug it in or does it need Techtwo-ing/Vauxcom-ing. I know we're Vectra Buffs but hope one of you guys can advise as his car is still in my garage. Knox insurance were the only ones to insure it on Vin plate details, great guys there.
    Happy New Year all Vec-C people

  2. #2
    Regular Member DTi Elite's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    county durham
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : Vectra

    Trim : Elite

    Engine : 1.9 cdti 150

    Year : 2007

    Mileage : 145k

    Default

    fairly certain the clocks are coded , possibly even part of the immobiliser .

  3. #3
    VIP-Member Das's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Turdsville
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    37 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : Lada

    Trim : Riva

    Engine : 6.0 V12

    Year : 1954

    Mileage : 567890987

    Default

    If its the same as the Vec-C he can just strip the dials, needles and the face and swap it over for a mph one, only issue will be if the existing km's displayed can be changed to miles using opcom or tech2.

  4. #4
    Regular Member 11mallard's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Selsdon,Surrey
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default Australian Speedo change KPH to MPH

    Hi Guys, I think I have sorted it out. Yesterday went to Bridges at Pease Pottage (M23/A23) and they have a brilliant stock of used parts available and many you remove yourself, got a couple of bits for my Veccy. Anyway they had on the shelf speedo cluster complete for 2008 Astra H 1800 Auto exactlky like my sons 2008 Holden Astra. Took a chance and bought it and today did a straight swop. Everything works O.K. Kilometer reading changed to equivalent Miles so looks like we are good to go to have it checkwd at Vosa . Ran it up the road and perfect 4/10ths of a mile reading. Cleared everything with the laptop program and no errors. Thanks for those who were able to help.
    Nigel
    Last edited by 11mallard; 13th January 2013 at 21:53. Reason: Spelling

  5. #5
    Regular Member Ben50n's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Seaham
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Did they say why he had to change the speedo over?? The majority of the small scooters and cheaper foreign motorbikes only have KMH on their clocks??

  6. #6
    Forum Moderator soulman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    VOTING UKIP IN AVELEY
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    6 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : Vauxhall

    Trim : Astra Twin Top

    Engine : 1.9cdti

    Year : 07

    Default

    glad you got that sorted Nigel ....

    I,m guessing the driver must know what MPH he is doing all the time without having to convert it whilst driving .

  7. #7
    Regular Member 11mallard's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Selsdon,Surrey
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by soulman View Post
    glad you got that sorted Nigel ....

    I,m guessing the driver must know what MPH he is doing all the time without having to convert it whilst driving .
    I think you are right but also We have to supply a Certificate of Compliance which we have to get from GM Holden (Vx in Luton are very helpful) and then have an MOT done using the Vin Number, that way we can the apply for UK Registration and get UK plates. At the mo it is still taxed from Queensland government and displaying Q'sland plates although now insured in UK on the vin number. This way its is all legal and will not have any probs. We feel it is best to be totally legal.
    A friend in the Met told us it seems that there are quite a number of Eastern Europen (EU) cars and vans in the UK not runninbg on UK plates which the police query if they are legally taxed and insured in the EU and legal in the UK.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. speedo change
    By Swedge in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 2nd August 2012, 02:40
  2. Speedo change
    By 11mallard in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 8th July 2012, 20:57
  3. Speedo change
    By Moysha in forum Vectra C / Signum Car Chat
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 6th April 2012, 10:25
  4. Change of wheels - calibrate speedo?
    By cossie in forum Suspension, Wheels & Brakes
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 5th April 2012, 17:22
  5. speedo change
    By d8mof in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 4th April 2011, 21:44

Visitors found this page by searching for:

how to change speedometer mph to km vectra c

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •