User Tag List

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Auto dim mirror question

  1. #1
    East Midlands - Regional Organiser new boy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    lincs
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    61 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : Exclusive

    Trim : Vxr half leather

    Engine : 1.9 cdti

    Year : 56

    Default Auto dim mirror question

    Looking at getting an auto dim mirror but can it be put in/working with out roof wiring? does it need tec2?
    Last edited by new boy; 16th December 2012 at 13:30.

  2. #2
    Full Member
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    South West
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    You need to run a ribbon cable from the connector panel in the boot under the roof lining to the mirror in order for it to work.

    The mirror fitted without the cable will not auto dim without the connection as far as i am aware.

  3. #3
    Full Member Niall83's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Belfast
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    There is a how 2 on here that connects the mirror to a live feed at the roof lights. It just need power to work. Tech2 tells the car it's there so it deactivates it when in reverse.
    AirBox Mod-Angel Eye head lights-HID 5000k-Colour coded grill-GID to CID-Auto Dim rear view Mirror, Rear Parking Sensors, Signum Fog surrounds, 19" Audi A5 rep Alloys, Eibach 30mm Pro-kit Lowering Springs.

  4. #4
    Regular Member andy.l's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Wirral / ellesmere port
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    10 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : insignia tourer

    Trim : elite

    Engine : 2.0 cdti 160

    Year : 2011

    Default

    the ribbon cable contains 5 connections in it and 2 of them are so you can fit the drivers side auto dim which works at same time
    as the interior dim mirror so if you want it like as if it was factory fit then you will have to have it wired the same

    providing you already have the wiring present from the door mirror right back to the rear rec for the drivers auto dim mirror,if not then
    again this wiring will have to be added.

    fairly simple if you know wot ya doin



  5. #5
    VIP-Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    `
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    40 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : `

    Trim : `

    Engine : `

    Year : `

    Mileage : `

    Default

    Well I suppose you could wire it up without the roof loom, but tbh its going to be a ton more work. An no it doesnt need tech2 to activate it, its one of the few things that works without activation.
    "We are not some sort of dictatorship!"


  6. #6
    East Midlands - Regional Organiser new boy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    lincs
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    61 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : Exclusive

    Trim : Vxr half leather

    Engine : 1.9 cdti

    Year : 56

    Default

    So i need to check if i have the wiring if not need that with the mirror. thanks guys

  7. #7
    Regular Member john norris's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    lancashire
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    to make it work correctly you need to have it activated, that way if you put it in reverse it will clear straight away if this does not bother you then it will work plugged straight in

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Auto dim mirror question
    By bensterzback in forum Vectra C / Signum Car Chat
    Replies: 35
    Last Post: 28th November 2012, 19:52
  2. Interior auto dimming mirror question
    By Mikey4996 in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 4th May 2012, 18:31
  3. Help needed - Auto dim mirror & poss auto wipers
    By mark_647 in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 11th December 2009, 01:09
  4. Another auto folding mirror question
    By Ziggy in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 25th February 2009, 12:36
  5. Auto wipers.. and auto dimming mirror ?
    By Steven T Davies-Moss in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 27
    Last Post: 28th January 2009, 01:24

Visitors found this page by searching for:

Nobody landed on this page from a search engine, yet!

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •