User Tag List

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: CD70 satnav not working

  1. #1
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    leeds
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default CD70 satnav not working

    Hi Everyone,

    The satnav on my CD70 has stopped working. The map display shows me somewhere near York but I haven't been there for years

    If you go to the MAIN screen which shows you a direction arrow and road name, I get an indication on the left side which is a GPS icon with a line through it. I assume this means no GPS signal?

    Do I just need a new aerial, has anyone had the problem before?

    Cheers
    David.

  2. #2
    Regular Member mrk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    14:88 our time will come
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : vectra hatchback

    Trim : improving

    Engine : 1.9cdti mas remap

    Year : 06

    Default

    if you have the aftermarket gps aerial under dash grill pull it out and stick it on the roof for 20 mins ,it fixed mine if you've got factory fit one may need a new one ,i'd just buy a little gps jobbie and stick it under the dash grill as it will save taking roof lining out

  3. #3
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    leeds
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Mine is factory fitted. Think I will have to replace the aerial base anyway because the seal is cracked and it might be leaking a bit. It's getting more comical by the minute as it now puts my position in the sea just off the coast at Redcar

    Found out a new part is £95 at my local main dealer but seen a genuine one on line from another main dealer for £32 so ordered one. Will let you know if that sorts it.

  4. #4
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    leeds
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Just wanted to report that I changed the aerial base for a genuine new one and all is well.

    Just FYI taking down the rear end of the roof lining to get to the nut and connector is not as bad as it sounds. BTW mine is a Signum so the Vectra may be slightly different.

    I removed the C pillar trims after unbolting the rear seatbelt mounts. Then I removed the centre rear seatbelt plastic holder which sits in the roof lining. All you need to do then is to pull back the seal from the top of the boot opening, and from the tops of the rear doors to free the roof lining. Now gently pulling the rear of the lining down gives enough space to get a spanner on the nut and reach in to disconnect the connector.

    By the way when you remove the C pillar trim you reveal the curtain airbag actuator - a bit scary . Maybe it would be best to disconnect the battery first, I didn't but got away with no problems

  5. #5
    Regular Member rozzer2006's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Glasgow
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : vectra

    Trim : VXR

    Engine : 2.8 v6 Turbo

    Year : 2008

    Mileage : 69k

    Default

    Did it fix it??

  6. #6
    Regular Member BigWilko's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Barnsley
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : Signum

    Trim : Design

    Engine : 3.0 CDTI

    Year : 2005

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by davidj387 View Post
    Just wanted to report that I changed the aerial base for a genuine new one and all is well.
    I'd say so

  7. #7
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    leeds
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    So would I

    Have put the atlas away for another 5 years!

  8. #8
    Full Member Robsey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    North East Cheshire
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    14 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : Vectra C

    Trim : Energy

    Engine : Z19DTH

    Year : 2005

    Mileage : 131,000

    Default

    Agreed - usually losing your GPS location is the fault of the aerial.

    This is the same for either OEM roof mounted aerials or even the ebay purchased patch aerials.
    New aerial sorts about 95% of positioning errors.

    Once in a blue moon the internal circuitry of a CD70 will fail, but it is quite rare.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. SatNav Not working
    By renwich in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 19th December 2012, 15:29
  2. Cd70 satnav
    By stanlee in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 19th October 2012, 19:12
  3. Post codes in CD70 NAVI satnav - who has this working ?
    By eeyore in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 6th October 2011, 16:09
  4. New POI on CD70 SatNav
    By Joneseylah in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 65
    Last Post: 25th August 2011, 01:34
  5. cd70 satnav
    By Dippy-Vx-line Red in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 19th March 2008, 19:29

Visitors found this page by searching for:

Nobody landed on this page from a search engine, yet!

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •