User Tag List

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: Remap or tuning box

  1. #1
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Sunny UK
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default Remap or tuning box

    Hi
    Ive done a few searches and have found lots of info about tuningng etc but I have a few questions.

    Whats the max. bhp a remap would give (in theory) on a pre-facelift v6 3.0 cdti. I m assuming a VX warranted one is the one to go for 'cos they know the max. limitations?
    Would it therefore be better to get a tuning box that doesnt exceed this limitation instead of going for the highest possible figures? If so, does one exist? Is the crd2 one such box? Is the Spider box one that can be set to keep the limtation down?

    The reason I ask is because i'm sure I read (on here) about a VX technician talking about pressures etc. can be too much when set too high on some tuning boxes...or did I mis-read.
    Thanks for any info
    Johny

  2. #2
    Ex Vec-C Admin & Founder Bainie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    60 Degrees North !!
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    A remap is defo the way to go, there seems to be a few (unproven) issues with cars running tuning boxes. You will have warranty issues unless you use an irmscher box I would think, though most tuners will now offer a warranty with a remap VX don`t do one as such. Though vxpc are associated with vx ...

  3. #3
    Regular Member The Doc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    'Norf Yorks.
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    If you buy a decent box with a microchip in it then it will be alot better than a resistor in a box....

    But remaps rule

  4. #4
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Sunny UK
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Hi
    Thanks for the replies........which ones have a microchip as opposed to a resisitor then please

  5. #5
    Regular Member Gsi3.2's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Technical directors office
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    any digital box..

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Can you run a tuning box & remap together?
    By swifty_53 in forum Diesel Engine related
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 23rd January 2012, 23:05
  2. Remap vs tuning box - FAQ
    By zafira in forum General Chat
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 15th January 2011, 14:47
  3. REMAP vs Tuning Box
    By Blingbloh in forum Diesel Engine related
    Replies: 143
    Last Post: 7th January 2011, 12:20
  4. Remap VS Tuning Box
    By hothatch in forum Vectra C / Signum Car Chat
    Replies: 22
    Last Post: 10th April 2010, 13:44
  5. ReMap and Tuning box?
    By nutron in forum Vectra C / Signum Car Chat
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 12th March 2006, 02:34

Visitors found this page by searching for:

Nobody landed on this page from a search engine, yet!

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •