User Tag List

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 16

Thread: Fitting new stereo

  1. #1
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Location
    Manchester
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Fitting new stereo

    After buying my first Vectra a couple of days ago, I want to get a DAB radio to put in it.

    Obviously it's going to need a fascia because the current stereo is larger that the standard size stereo that I'll buy.

    Are there any other problems that anyone has encountered whilst swapping one over? I'm going to stick and amp and a 10 or 12 inch sub in the boot as well.

    Would the display be affected at all, by removing the original stereo?


    ta

  2. #2
    Full Member RBH's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Ecosse
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    29 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    29 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    the display will only show the time and temp and possibly the date.

    the radio station etc wont show

  3. #3
    Admin & Server Techy Ian-Highlander's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Ely, Cambridgeshire
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    53 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    53 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Unless you buy a unit that's display compatible

    http://www.vectra-c.com/forum/showth...=1#post1172234
    "Doing a good job here is like wetting your pants in a dark suit, you get a warm feeling but nobody else notices"
    Maptun Tuned 2.0T Estate - click HERE for mods list.
    Brentwood 2012: Winner, Saturday Show. Hull 2012: Winner, Best Estate. Hull 2013: Winner, Best Estate & Runner Up, Best I.C.E

    Now Gone, bring on the Insignia (now "Teapot" Tuned)...

  4. #4
    Regular Member Mr Owens's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    Wickford
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    You will also need to check if you need a wiring loom adaptor for the new radio.

  5. #5
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Location
    Manchester
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Well I bought those oversized radio prongs and a fascia yesterday. Pulled the radio out and it needs a wiring adapter. I've got a Parrot handsfree kit to fit as well so the existing harness, wiring adapter, Parrot adapter and Alpine adapter is going to be a right pain to hide behind the stereo...

    Anyway... What is the aerial all about? Would a normal aerial adapter work for it?

    Also, when in Halfords, I bought a fascia for Corsa/Agila/Omega - it didnt say Vectra but looked right to me. Anyone else fitted one of these?

  6. #6
    Regular Member Mr Owens's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    Wickford
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Go on eBay and buy the connects2 facia adaptor as its spot on, also while your on there buy the loom and ariel adaptors aswell, then you can use the standard iso loom from the parrot kit

  7. #7
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Location
    Manchester
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Hi, yeah I have now ordered one off ebay with the aerial adapter... £10 as opposed to £30 for the Autoleads one (that doesnt fit) from Halfords, which doesnt include the aerial adapter!

  8. #8
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    N. Ireland
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    your steering wheel controls wont work unless you buy additional adapter

  9. #9
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Location
    Manchester
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by forde View Post
    your steering wheel controls wont work unless you buy additional adapter

    yeah I know mate, not too fussed about that though

  10. #10
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    N. Ireland
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    cool just sayin cos you were asking if any other problems might arise

    i have my own problem, my dash is like gunmetal grey type colour and all the facias i found are either bright silver or black can someone point me in right direction? cheers

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Fitting Alpine stereo
    By inchy1981 in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 21st November 2012, 11:34
  2. Issues fitting Stereo
    By TheAdmiralCS in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 17th May 2011, 10:30
  3. Fitting a different stereo
    By aruffell in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 3rd March 2011, 20:56
  4. Fitting New Stereo HELP
    By amoore123 in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 15
    Last Post: 24th July 2009, 11:38
  5. Stereo Fitting
    By Steven in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 20
    Last Post: 26th April 2006, 12:58

Visitors found this page by searching for:

Nobody landed on this page from a search engine, yet!

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •