User Tag List

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 20

Thread: Any computer wizards on the Forum ?

  1. #1
    Regular Member alcutler's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    East Midlands
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    6 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    6 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Any computer wizards on the Forum ?

    Hi, got a problem with my desktop computer it only boots up so far, comes up with a blue screen with rows of red stripes down it and then eventually stops trying and comes up with 'No RGB output' - I've read it up on Google and it sounds like the graphics card is knacked - I've taken it out and the cooling fan was clogged up with dust but looks ok - cleaned it up and replaced and made no difference. Just ordered a new card off Fleabay - its the same make as the u/s one ' Asus' make but is obviously a different model. The new card will probably need a new driver to operate it when installed but how will I install the driver if the computer still will not boot up with the new card in or will the generic drivers in Windows allow it to work until I can install the correct driver? Any help would be appreciated.

  2. #2
    Regular Member Handyandy-UK's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Suffolk, Englandshire
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Take a look on the back of the PC just in case there's already an 'on-board' graphics card - will appear as a 'D socket' about 15mm long, usually with a blue infill and 3 rows of holes to match with the cable from your monitor. If you have one the PC should default to that as soon as you boot the system. That would allow you to use the machine until you get your new card in and installed.

    Regardless though, if you were to fit a working graphics card without the specific drivers, it would most likely install using the generic drivers in Windows and work in a reduced capacity, but sufficient for you to run Windows Update or download the correct driver pack from the manufacturer's website....

    ... although if all you're doing is replacing like-for-like, then the drivers should already be there.

  3. #3
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Location
    Far out
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Agreed. Provided you ordered a card that is compatible with the motherboard (slots) and your monitor (hardly an issue), it will show a pic upon boot. Might not be a great pic, but will show basic info. If Winblows doesn't reconize it and offer a driver you'll have to download it.

    Make sure you get the proper driver for your Windoes version. Next you'll have to customize settings and properties.

  4. #4
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    UK
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Graphics card goosed

  5. #5
    Regular Member alcutler's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    East Midlands
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    6 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    6 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Thanks guys - have removed the card/ cleaned it and put it back, tried another lead and monitor - but still the same. The card I have ordered is the same make but a different model and was just wondering about the drivers that may be required for the new card.

  6. #6
    Regular Member alcutler's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    East Midlands
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    6 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    6 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by tony-1977 View Post
    Graphics card goosed
    Tony, would a faulty graphics card stop windows from booting up - I would have thought it would have gone through all the motions but still have the stripes running through the picture - the first time I managed to get it to start up in 'safe' mode but after that it wouldn't get past the 'No RGB output' screen!

  7. #7
    Regular Member paz_badboy4life's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Leicestershire
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Take the graph card out. & use the pc as normal connecting to the on board graphics.

  8. #8
    Regular Member alcutler's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    East Midlands
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    6 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    6 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by paz_badboy4life View Post
    Take the graph card out. & use the pc as normal connecting to the on board graphics.
    Oh right - I'll try that - Thanks

  9. #9
    Regular Member alcutler's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    East Midlands
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    6 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    6 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by alcutler View Post
    Oh right - I'll try that - Thanks
    Ok - the cards out - but where do I plug the monitor lead as the plug socket is on the card I've took out!

  10. #10
    Regular Member paz_badboy4life's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Leicestershire
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    what type of lead do you have? DVI? VGA? HDMI? could you take a pic of it and post it here? also take a pic of the rear of your pc too.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. can one of you photoshop wizards please help
    By tolly in forum Signature & Avatar Testing
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 13th February 2012, 16:38
  2. Any pc wizards on here?
    By neill in forum General Chat
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 23rd February 2011, 06:36
  3. Electronic wizards please help !
    By FIL 4822 in forum Vectra C / Signum Car Chat
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 20th October 2009, 16:57
  4. Please Help Photo Wizards
    By 21_03_sxi in forum Vectra C / Signum Car Chat
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 18th January 2008, 14:39
  5. Some help from you computer wizards please!
    By j13hdb in forum General Chat
    Replies: 38
    Last Post: 25th August 2007, 23:06

Visitors found this page by searching for:

website to chat with computer wizards

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •