User Tag List

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 20

Thread: 12v permanent feed in boot needed

  1. #1
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    UK
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default 12v permanent feed in boot needed

    Teaches me not read the description properly. Have just done the socket in boot mod, using the HOW2. Was testing it, and saw it was ignition switched!! When I re-read it I saw that's what the HOW2 was for.....

    I wanted a permanent live feed. Luckly I hadn't drilled any holes yet.

    I Have used Fuse No. 17 and a piggy back blade holder.

    It's not what I want as I want to attach either a battery conditioner via the socket or a solar powered battery charger/maintainer.

    I know there is a feed above the 40AMP fuse (and below it). Are there any fuses in the rear fuse box that are permanently live? I'd like to re use the piggy back blade holder if possible?
    Cheers
    Last edited by ijk571; 3rd November 2012 at 17:35. Reason: makes more sense now...

  2. #2
    VIP-Member Das's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Turdsville
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    39 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : Lada

    Trim : Riva

    Engine : 6.0 V12

    Year : 1954

    Mileage : 567890987

    Default

    I fitted a 12v Aux in my boot and wired it up using the how2, mine is 12v all the time.

  3. #3
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    UK
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Could that be because yours is preface and not full canbus?

  4. #4
    VIP-Member Das's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Turdsville
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    39 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : Lada

    Trim : Riva

    Engine : 6.0 V12

    Year : 1954

    Mileage : 567890987

    Default

    Possibly. Surely not another cost cutting measure, lol.

  5. #5
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    UK
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Also, if I do have to use the feed above the 40 amp fuse (if I can't use the fuse board) I assume I can use safely use a 15amp fuse in the inline fuseholder? I am a bit of numpty when it come to in car electrics..
    Last edited by ijk571; 3rd November 2012 at 23:07.

  6. #6
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    UK
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Any ideas? I would like to get this sorted today if possible, thanks

  7. #7
    Regular Member rushy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Old School Vectra-C.Com. Residing in sunny Leeds.
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : SRi


    Engine : Z22SE (2.2 Petrol)

    Year : 2004

    Mileage : 137000

    Default

    The big ones at the top are all constant live.

  8. #8
    Full Member merikiito's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Northampton
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : Insignia CDTi SRi NAV 160

    Trim : SRi

    Engine : A20DTH

    Year : 2009

    Mileage : 88000

    Default

    Yes you can use a 15amp fuse as it only affects the cable that comes from it
    Lois Griffin: Peter! You're bribing your daughter with a car?
    Peter Griffin: Ah, c'mon, Lois, isn't 'bribe' just another word for 'love'?

  9. #9
    Regular Member Sierra2's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    London
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : Vectra C

    Trim : SRI

    Engine : 1.9cdti (120)

    Year : 2007

    Mileage : 45k

  10. #10
    Regular Member rushy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Old School Vectra-C.Com. Residing in sunny Leeds.
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : SRi


    Engine : Z22SE (2.2 Petrol)

    Year : 2004

    Mileage : 137000

    Default

    These are constant live's. Obviously one side is + and the other is -. You'll need one male spade connector and just push it straight into the empty port, then just put an inline fuse holder in and bobs your uncle.


Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Permanent live in boot
    By montyfert in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 30th January 2012, 20:11
  2. permanent live in the boot
    By Al 22 dti in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 2nd June 2011, 07:02
  3. Permanent supply in boot?
    By lencuff in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 8th November 2010, 15:06
  4. Permanent Live in Boot?
    By bandrew in forum Vectra C / Signum Car Chat
    Replies: 26
    Last Post: 22nd October 2009, 15:03
  5. Where can i take a permanent live feed from rear fuse box ?
    By deanos in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 12th June 2009, 16:40

Visitors found this page by searching for:

Nobody landed on this page from a search engine, yet!

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •