User Tag List

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Big Brake Upgrade

  1. #1
    Regular Member parapaul's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    127.0.0.1
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default Big Brake Upgrade

    Just ordered the upgrade kit from LMF



    along with some other ...ahem... 'bits'

    Just a quick question, though. I know the brake sensor wiring loom from my SRi won't be long enough, and i need to order a GSi one, cut them up, solder together etc, but...

    Can't I just run without one at all? Or will the mysterious on board computer just keep shouting at me?


  2. #2
    Ex Vec-C Admin & Founder Bainie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    60 Degrees North !!
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    I would have thought that it would come with the kit, if not they are just £6 from the dealer, a GSi one should plug straight in.

  3. #3
    Regular Member Gsi3.2's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Technical directors office
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    it won't as the end plug to the cars wiring loom is different......

    if you don't fit one it will still light up the warning light.. for the 12 quid it will cost i'd just buy the bits you need and make one up....

  4. #4
    Regular Member Caterman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Here, there and every where!
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : Signum

    Trim : Elite

    Engine : 3.2 V6

    Year : 05

    Default

    ?????????????????????????

    When i fitted the kit everything fitted perfectly. Nothing missing and nothing to add.
    Changed the calipers and disks, sensor wire fitted back in ok

  5. #5
    Ex Vec-C Admin & Founder Bainie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    60 Degrees North !!
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Caterman View Post
    ?????????????????????????

    When i fitted the kit everything fitted perfectly. Nothing missing and nothing to add.
    Thats what I would expect for a kit costing 400 notes !!

  6. #6
    Regular Member Gsi3.2's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Technical directors office
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    when we did Plasma's we had big probs on his with the sensor wire being 2" too short.. it kept falling out of the socket so we fitted a GSi sensor wire which is longer to fit around the bigger calipers..the CDti one fitted the smaller discs alright, but just wouldn't reach the bigger one when routed as the factory did....

    The only problem is that the GSi sensor has a different plug to the CDti..and the LMF kit didn't have a longer sensor wire in it..So we were forced into making one up...Deans never had a problem since...All i can do is , like Tony, pass on the benefit of my experience..

  7. #7
    Regular Member Caterman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Here, there and every where!
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : Signum

    Trim : Elite

    Engine : 3.2 V6

    Year : 05

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Gsi3.2 View Post
    when we did Plasma's we had big probs on his with the sensor wire being 2" too short.. it kept falling out of the socket so we fitted a GSi sensor wire which is longer to fit around the bigger calipers..the CDti one fitted the smaller discs alright, but just wouldn't reach the bigger one when routed as the factory did....

    The only problem is that the GSi sensor has a different plug to the CDti..and the LMF kit didn't have a longer sensor wire in it..So we were forced into making one up...Deans never had a problem since...All i can do is , like Tony, pass on the benefit of my experience..
    Strange Mark, as Tommy said, if you pay for a full kit that is what you should get The only problem i had was one of the bolts would not shift! i had to buy a new bolt and grind the old one off

  8. #8
    Regular Member Gsi3.2's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Technical directors office
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    yep, i remember you saying... the kit that Dean got sold had no extended lead whatsoever..are you telling me yours did???.. would have saved Dean and me a whole heck of greif making it work correctly??...

  9. #9
    Regular Member Caterman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Here, there and every where!
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : Signum

    Trim : Elite

    Engine : 3.2 V6

    Year : 05

    Default

    No m8, no extras at all but my lead refitted in the same place as on the old caliper. Maybe it had a longer one to begin with

  10. #10
    Regular Member Gsi3.2's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Technical directors office
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Pass..... we couldn't keep Deans lead in..... hence why i adapted a GSi 314mm loom to fit his car.....

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Brake upgrade help please
    By Angel1368 in forum Vectra C / Signum Car Chat
    Replies: 18
    Last Post: 6th February 2013, 08:57
  2. Brake upgrade
    By DNS in forum Vectra C / Signum Car Chat
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 6th July 2012, 14:03
  3. Brake upgrade...
    By scotty84 in forum Handling & Braking
    Replies: 16
    Last Post: 6th October 2011, 12:41
  4. Brake Upgrade
    By lizard in forum Handling & Braking
    Replies: 30
    Last Post: 1st June 2009, 16:08
  5. lmf v6 brake upgrade
    By rorycarz in forum Parts for sale
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 16th May 2007, 18:24

Visitors found this page by searching for:

Nobody landed on this page from a search engine, yet!

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •