User Tag List

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Fitting jvc headunit problems!!!

  1. #1
    Regular Member Marvec's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Location
    preston
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Cool Fitting jvc headunit problems!!!

    Hi im new to this site so hopefully i will get some good advice.
    I have a 2005 vec c 1.8 petrol and i want to change the headunit, (single din) i have all the kit but when i connect my jvc headunit it doesnt work, you can only put a cd in and eject it as the motor works but no lights/sound come on . This headunit has worked in all my other cars but the vectra, there is power going to the jvc but it seems its not enough, here are some pics of the kit i have.
    Pic 1 Antenna Adaptor.
    Pic 2 Quadlock Adaptor
    Pic 3 Headunit JVC KD-G632
    pIC 4 My original unit.

    Also, do I have the correct lead for the steering wheel controls to work?
    Attached Images Attached Images

  2. #2
    On a Sabbatical
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    UK
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats




    Year : 06

    Default

    Try swapping the power cables ie red wire into yellow and yellow into red I've always had to do this

  3. #3
    Full Member coldo's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Scotland
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    In my experiance this is normaly down to the Const power and the ACC power leads being the wrong way round on the headunit harness.

    Your also coneccting it to a quallock which might need you to take power from another source due tot he canbus issues. What type of quallock lead are you using (make like Connects2, Autoleads etc)...?

    I am assuming the wiring haness from the headunit is not photographed. It will most likely connect into the ISO connectors at teh other end of the qual lead. If this is the case then UI would buy the following...

    http://www.dynamicsounds.co.uk/conne...or-p-9113.html with the JVC patch lead.

    This will let you efectivly plug and play the radio. Stearing wheel controls WILL work with this and still allow you to access the setting screen of the BD system to adjust the clock etc.

    You might be able to source it cheaper else where but I have always found this company to be very helpfull.

  4. #4
    Regular Member Marvec's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Location
    preston
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by marc vectra sri View Post
    Try swapping the power cables ie red wire into yellow and yellow into red I've always had to do this
    Cheers for the reply, do you mean swap the red and yellow wires on the headunit or the quadlock lead?

  5. #5
    Full Member coldo's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Scotland
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    if your swapping the wires it will be the ones on the head unit wiring loom as they normaly have conectors to allow you to do this.

  6. #6
    On a Sabbatical
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    UK
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats




    Year : 06

    Default

    It's the wires on the headunit u swap

  7. #7
    Regular Member Marvec's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Location
    preston
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by coldo View Post
    In my experiance this is normaly down to the Const power and the ACC power leads being the wrong way round on the headunit harness.

    Your also coneccting it to a quallock which might need you to take power from another source due tot he canbus issues. What type of quallock lead are you using (make like Connects2, Autoleads etc)...?

    I am assuming the wiring haness from the headunit is not photographed. It will most likely connect into the ISO connectors at teh other end of the qual lead. If this is the case then UI would buy the following...

    http://www.dynamicsounds.co.uk/conne...or-p-9113.html with the JVC patch lead.

    This will let you efectivly plug and play the radio. Stearing wheel controls WILL work with this and still allow you to access the setting screen of the BD system to adjust the clock etc.

    You might be able to source it cheaper else where but I have always found this company to be very helpfull.
    yes the jvc headunit has swappable red/yellow leads, and the quadlock is made by Celsus, i bought it from my local motorstore, i will have another go at fitting the unit now

  8. #8
    Full Member coldo's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Scotland
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    The wires from the quadlock (orange and red) look like they need to be connected to something. I am assuming this is like the old Vauxhall astra H adapter whcih took a feed from the cig lighter or the sports button.

    Personaly I would ditch the lead (steering wheel controls will not work with it) and get a connects2 / autoleads or similar one instead which has the steering wheel patch. That way everything will work .

  9. #9
    Full Member Knight Rider's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Motherwell
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : Vectra C SRi 1.8vvti

    Trim : Sri

    Engine : 18.vvti

    Year : 2007

    Mileage : 29,500

    Default

    +1 on the dynamic sounds too, they're a great company to get stuff from.


  10. #10
    Regular Member Marvec's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Location
    preston
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Quick update, i managed to get my JVC unit going as i connected my red wire to the yellow wire creating a live wire so i just have to pop the head unit off when the car is parked up, I might get the lead with the steering adapter on in the near future, thanks for all your good advice guys .

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Fed up - please help... Aftermarket double din headunit fitting
    By andyfeeny in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 23rd July 2010, 19:42
  2. Headunit problems
    By jimmy k in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 5th July 2010, 22:58
  3. Headunit problems
    By jimmy k in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 5th July 2010, 15:52
  4. fitting new headunit
    By decks in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 16
    Last Post: 3rd July 2010, 21:58
  5. Headunit Problems anyone???
    By Cilldara1 in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 5th July 2007, 16:23

Visitors found this page by searching for:

vectra c jvc connect

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •