User Tag List

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Results 1 to 3 of 3

Thread: Power Puzzle

  1. #1
    Regular Member breezephil's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    LONDON
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Power Puzzle

    Right basically, I have a 4Ga Power cable running down the side of the car - you know the usual route. Its a Typical Autoleads 4Ga Stranded Red Power cable.

    I notice the other day when I turned on the Stereo that there was no bass...worked through all the way of fault finding and it seems that there is no power getting to the amp, the fuse in the engine bay is fine so it is leaving the engine bay, but not reaching the boot - which is in my mind a broken cable, personally I never thought a cable like that could break, its a bit odd I think.

    Has anyone ever had anything like this before??

    Im going to do a simple loop test on the cable to see if it is intact and if it is well it might be to do with the fuse holder - if not I do have some new stuff and it looks like i may be running it!!


    Posted it in the wrong place before... whoops

  2. #2
    Regular Member Gsi3.2's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Technical directors office
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Well, a simple continuity check would prove or disprove the main power feed, but when you say you have no bass, do you mean the amp isn't switching on?... if so it could be the remote wire from the headunit. if that had a break it would stop the amp coming into life.. have you tried bridging the +12v live and the remote input to see if you can get it to run?..

  3. #3
    Regular Member breezephil's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    LONDON
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Yeah the Amp isnt Switching on, initially i thought the same thing - the remote on not feeding the amp - so i got the little bit of wire and shorted across to the +12V Input. And the Amp Powered up although the power lights were very faint.

    It was at this point I took out my trusty Voltmeter and started stabbing around. what confused me was the fact that I had 12V Between the Remote Terminal and the Ground Connection and 0V between the +12V Input and the Ground.

    This is what confused me.

    The Remote Cable is intact as there is a 12V DC supply on the terminal so that rules that out.

    Its a Bit wet at the moment so Ill take a look at the main Power cable tomorrow (hopefully)

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Mat Puzzle
    By it0011 in forum Vectra C / Signum Car Chat
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 24th January 2009, 14:19
  2. key fob puzzle
    By bnam in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 14th August 2008, 08:44
  3. Yet another puzzle
    By Gr4eme in forum Comedy & Humour
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 17th January 2008, 22:50
  4. Another Puzzle
    By lofty in forum Comedy & Humour
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 17th January 2008, 15:55
  5. A puzzle
    By Ste in forum General Chat
    Replies: 17
    Last Post: 16th January 2008, 23:23

Visitors found this page by searching for:

Nobody landed on this page from a search engine, yet!

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •