User Tag List

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: Stopping power drop to head unit

  1. #1
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Chelmsford
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default Stopping power drop to head unit

    Thought I'd post this on behalf of a mate.

    He's bought and fitted a Parrot headunit (effectively an Android powered computer).

    Problem is that a slight drop in power (eg during engine start) causes it to reset and reboot (takes a minute or so) which is a right pain in the bum.

    Been trying to work out a way to prevent this from happening.

    Anyone got any tips for me? ICE isn't my strong point!

  2. #2
    On a Sabbatical
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    UK
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats




    Year : 06

    Default

    I think can't remember if my head unit does it maybe try the earth mod

    Sent from my Nokia 3310

  3. #3
    Regular Member Ben50n's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Seaham
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Only thing I can think of is a direct connection to the battery and maybe some form of capacitor to smooth out the split second voltage drop?

  4. #4
    Regular Member john norris's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    lancashire
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Having a capacitor on the power lines should stop that you can get a good one from Maplins

  5. #5
    Regular Member john norris's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    lancashire
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    http://mobile.maplin.co.uk/module.aspx?moduleno=104982

    Sorry on my mobile I have one of these but mine was half the price

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Power drop to head lights
    By Kcriyback in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 16th February 2012, 01:05
  2. head unit power feed????
    By jonny_adams60 in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 13th February 2011, 17:52
  3. No Power To Head Unit (Fuse's OK)
    By Simo87 in forum Vectra C / Signum Car Chat
    Replies: 21
    Last Post: 19th April 2009, 11:26
  4. No power to head unit!!
    By jeremy in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 22nd May 2006, 10:14
  5. Power to a Head Unit
    By Damian in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 16th February 2006, 10:05

Visitors found this page by searching for:

Nobody landed on this page from a search engine, yet!

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •