User Tag List

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: ABS Cable problem(Continuity Check)

  1. #1
    Regular Member Blade1000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Wales
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default ABS Cable problem(Continuity Check)

    I have an issue with my ABS system, I have replaced both Driveshaft Gaiters, and since this I have an ABS and Speed sensor fault.
    I've had it TechII'd and it appears the both sensors have failed.
    Now, I noticed on one side that the round pin connector going into the ABS lead (Hub-Side) is corroded, and tried to use a little WD-40 in there and a tiny screwdriver to clean some corrosion up.
    This hasn't helped.
    Now before I buy new fricking Hubs(£116 + VAT each) that's trade club price, I'm wondering if I could just throw a test meter on the cables to check if they have continuity and/or Voltage/Resistance readings.
    So if anyone knows this I would be very grateful.
    Unfortunately, I'm out of the UK right now, back Sat, so I thought I'd ask if anyone knows of a way to check this, then I can give it a shot when home.
    Now, as the sensors are built into the Hub, I'm not sure if you can remove them from the Hub and obviously being here, I can't investigate further, but at least I will know what to try.
    What I also don't want to do as yet, is cut the connectors off, and solder cables/heat shrink them etc, unless I know it is a cable fault rather than a dodgy sensor itself. As then I have the issue of No connector for the new Hub sensors to connect to!!
    If it is the cable connections that are ******ed, then I will have no issue with that of course.
    Cheers guys
    The car is MY03, 3.2 V6 Elite Siggy.

  2. #2
    Regular Member Chunklamb's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    Milton keynes
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : 330D (13) Tourer 258 Auto & Signum 1.9 CDTI (07) 150 Auto

    Trim : M Sport and Design

    Engine : Z19DTH

    Year : 2007

    Mileage : 38100

    Default

    The sensors are built into the hub I believe and cant be replaced etc. Have you tried driving with the sensors connected? They need to turn (I think to around 20mph) to build a electrical value to reset the fault. Other than that, checking the cable, if you can work out which cable in the loom is which and test the resistance of the wire. (Should be less than 1 Ohm).... Being the fact that its both front, I'd say its the loom rather than the sensors. Stupid Q, but fuses havent blown when have they?

  3. #3
    Regular Member Blade1000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Wales
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    No fuse blown, I'm thinking it's the connectors, as these were disconnected when I did the CV Boots. I'll try test resistance when I get back. Thanks

  4. #4
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    scotland
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats






  5. #5
    Regular Member Blade1000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Wales
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    That's a great page mate. Thank you, I will look into this next weekend when home.
    Really appreciate your input guys.

  6. #6
    Regular Member Critch's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    wirral
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    36 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : Mk1 renault scenic... I know I know but it drives

    Trim : Basic

    Engine : 1.6 16v

    Year : 2003

    Default

    If you have diagnostics take it for a drive an view each sensor

    With a multimeter take a voltage reading may need to be set to ac an turn wheel.

    You can also use ohm meter to test resistance. But it's not a guaranteed check that voltage can flow.

    try locate common point for both sensor an test that point as seems unlikely for 2 sensors to become faultly together

  7. #7
    Ex-Staff Full Member John LE's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Forfar, Scotland
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    4 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : Facelift Insignia/Corsa D

    Trim : LE/VXR

    Engine : 2.0 cdti/1.6 Turbo

    Year : 13/07

    Default

    Before you splash out on hubs, there is a cable that runs between the connection at the hub and the chassis leg.

    If you start at the plug you've had apart and follow the cable you will find another connector further up. The connections can corrode in that one too

  8. #8
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    scotland
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    ^^^^^ thats where mine corroded and I replaced it with new plug and little section of loom spliced in :-)

  9. #9
    Regular Member Blade1000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Wales
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Thanks guys, I have some good ideas to go at now! I'm more and more convinced its the connections, as it does seem way to coincidental for both sensors to fail like this. I will check all of the above, quick question, if I cut and splice if finding this to be the issue, any ideas on watertight connectors? Where to source etc! Thanks again

  10. #10
    VIP-Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    London
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats



    Engine : Z18XER



Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Wheels refurbed, Check - Car Buffed and Polished, Check! !
    By messermitch in forum Quick Photo Album
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 18th July 2012, 23:18
  2. check safegaurd problem
    By luckyjohn99 in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 29th June 2009, 07:33
  3. XBox 360 VGA cable and Advanced SCART cable FS
    By RSV_Ecosse in forum General items for sale
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2nd February 2007, 00:01
  4. Autoleads cable problem
    By andythilo in forum Vectra C / Signum Car Chat
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 15th December 2006, 08:18

Visitors found this page by searching for:

Nobody landed on this page from a search engine, yet!

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •