User Tag List

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Handbrake comes up too high

  1. #1
    Full Member merikiito's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Northampton
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Handbrake comes up too high

    My handbrake on the Signum is coming up to high, it hits the arm rest and pushes it up when fully on. I have changed the rear pads (were low) and reset the spring under the arm rest and it still comes up too high. Have I missed something or do I need to get a new handbrake cable next?

    Cheers for any help
    Lois Griffin: Peter! You're bribing your daughter with a car?
    Peter Griffin: Ah, c'mon, Lois, isn't 'bribe' just another word for 'love'?

  2. #2
    Full Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    London
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Did you press pedal to take up piston travel before touching handbrake

  3. #3
    Regular Member john506's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Wirral
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    You can tighten the handbrake cable can't you?

  4. #4
    Regular Member Craig1985's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    harwich essex
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Sounds like time for a new cable.

  5. #5
    Full Member merikiito's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Northampton
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by troutybrown View Post
    Did you press pedal to take up piston travel before touching handbrake
    Not sure I did, can I take the rear handbrake cables back off and try it again?
    Lois Griffin: Peter! You're bribing your daughter with a car?
    Peter Griffin: Ah, c'mon, Lois, isn't 'bribe' just another word for 'love'?

  6. #6
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    This is London baby
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Dont need to take cables off, if you know how to reset the handbrake cable mech in the car, reset it with engine running pump footbrake a few times (do it quite quick) the pull up the handbrake and release a few times. If that dont help its time for a new handbrake cable.

  7. #7
    Regular Member 4ndy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Glasgow
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    I have the same problem after upgrading to 292mm discs and calipers on the rear. I have tried everything to try and fix the situation but I think the reality is that the handbrake cables are stretched. I can deliberately over adjust them using the self adjuster but it doesn't last long.

  8. #8
    Full Member merikiito's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Northampton
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by cliomjh 102 View Post
    Dont need to take cables off, if you know how to reset the handbrake cable mech in the car, reset it with engine running pump footbrake a few times (do it quite quick) the pull up the handbrake and release a few times. If that dont help its time for a new handbrake cable.
    will try this in the morning and report back
    Lois Griffin: Peter! You're bribing your daughter with a car?
    Peter Griffin: Ah, c'mon, Lois, isn't 'bribe' just another word for 'love'?

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Help - High idle (1000 rpm) and high map reading
    By roswell in forum Engine & Drivetrain
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 5th April 2011, 21:49
  2. AutoGlym High Def Wax
    By andymagee1982 in forum Detailing and Car Care Discussion
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 27th April 2010, 22:42
  3. Handbrake Lever high...
    By adamtaylor in forum Vectra C / Signum Car Chat
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 3rd February 2010, 11:44
  4. High 5
    By Leviathan in forum The 'Off Topic' room
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 17th February 2008, 02:06
  5. I think its sitting too high...
    By 2ltrT in forum Handling & Braking
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 21st September 2006, 14:59

Visitors found this page by searching for:

Nobody landed on this page from a search engine, yet!

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •