User Tag List

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: CD30 Replacement bulbs for display

  1. #1
    New Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Wirral
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default CD30 Replacement bulbs for display

    Hi. Does anyone know if you can get replacement bulbs for the Vectra C CD30 CD/radio display unit. All 3 have now blown. I once had a Citroen with a similar problem and couldn't get bulbs anywhere.
    Thanks.

  2. #2
    Regular Member bigcarman79's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Pontefract
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    I think you will find they are LED's (SMD) so will need new ones soldered on. Are you sure they are blown and not a fault/dry joint/cracked track on the PCB?

  3. #3
    Regular Member BigWilko's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Barnsley
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : Signum

    Trim : Design

    Engine : 3.0 CDTI

    Year : 2005

    Default

    Unless it's the TID (which it sounds like it is with the op saying that all 3 bulbs are duff) in which case i'd imagine they are replaceable. Not sure what fitment they are though.

    You should be able to pick up an entire replacement TID from a scrappers or the bay cheaply as there are loads of them kicking about and not in demand. Just swap the bulbs over if you're struggling

    http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/VECTRA-C-T...ht_1197wt_1111
    Last edited by BigWilko; 21st August 2012 at 21:44. Reason: Found a link!!

  4. #4
    New Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Wirral
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    It's the bulbs, not the whole unit. I've done 174k miles with the radio/cd permanently on and they've failed one at a time over the years. 3rd one went off today. I've had the unit out for a look and they twist out. Don't know if i could take some from a used unit because they're in a VERY brittle plastic holder which breaks when they're even gently twisted out. I had considered replacement of whole unit. Probably going to be the easier option. Checked ebay...quite a few about. I'll try the local breakers as well. Thanks guys.

  5. #5
    Regular Member BigWilko's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Barnsley
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : Signum

    Trim : Design

    Engine : 3.0 CDTI

    Year : 2005

    Default

    You could always go for the GID upgrade

  6. #6
    New Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Wirral
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Sorry, what's a GID upgrade? Sounds good.

  7. #7
    Regular Member BigWilko's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Barnsley
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : Signum

    Trim : Design

    Engine : 3.0 CDTI

    Year : 2005

    Default

    It'll allow you to change your TID (triple info display) into a GID (General info Display)

    You'll end up with something that might look like this


  8. #8
    New Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Wirral
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    I'll see what the breakers have got. Thanks

  9. #9
    Regular Member BigWilko's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Barnsley
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : Signum

    Trim : Design

    Engine : 3.0 CDTI

    Year : 2005

    Default

    Be careful as if your car is full canbus (steering wheel scrollers) you'll need to get the new display divorced and re-married from the old HU and to your HU. There's also many different types of screen all of which have a 2 letter code on them. Someone on here might be able to advise which one you need.

  10. #10
    New Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Wirral
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Managed to get new bulbs from main dealer. All fitted and in working bright shiny order!
    Thanks for the replies everyone!

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. For Sale: CD30 and Display Screen
    By dti owner in forum Parts for sale
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 16th February 2013, 19:29
  2. For Sale: CD30 & Display
    By Telly Addict in forum Parts for sale
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 10th September 2011, 01:10
  3. CD30 and Display
    By Neil71 in forum Parts for sale
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 19th November 2008, 08:40

Visitors found this page by searching for:

vectra c stereo bulb replacement

vectra c bulb change cd player

can a vectra c run smd bulbs without a fault

change bulb stereo vectra c

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •