User Tag List

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 19

Thread: broadband router

  1. #1
    Regular Member J P S's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    Birmingham
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : 2007 1.9cdti sri 150 estate

    Trim : sri

    Engine : 1.9cdti 150

    Year : 2007

    Default broadband router

    i think my wireless router has packed up.

    i can connect to the internet using home plugs through the router but i think the wireless part of it is toast.

    my laptop doesnt seem to find the signal anymore.

    is it likely to be fixable or is it new router time?

    and if so can someone recomend me a good one, doesnt need to be anything too flashy just work lol

    i am on virgin broadband if that helps

  2. #2
    Full Member merikiito's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Northampton
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : Insignia CDTi SRi NAV 160

    Trim : SRi

    Engine : A20DTH

    Year : 2009

    Mileage : 88000

    Default

    Have you made sure that your wireless on the laptop is switched on? There is either a switch on the front of the laptop or you need to use a combination of key press to turn it on/off
    Can you see other wireless networks on the laptop?
    If not then its switched off
    Lois Griffin: Peter! You're bribing your daughter with a car?
    Peter Griffin: Ah, c'mon, Lois, isn't 'bribe' just another word for 'love'?

  3. #3
    Regular Member J P S's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    Birmingham
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : 2007 1.9cdti sri 150 estate

    Trim : sri

    Engine : 1.9cdti 150

    Year : 2007

    Default

    yeah the wifi is on, there is a button on the keyboard and i did turn it off once and wondered what had happened lol.

    it is on, will find other networks just not mine.

    same with mobile phone too

  4. #4
    Full Member merikiito's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Northampton
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : Insignia CDTi SRi NAV 160

    Trim : SRi

    Engine : A20DTH

    Year : 2009

    Mileage : 88000

    Default

    Ok then turn off the router for 30 seconds and see what happens. My virgin superhub loses the wifi now and again
    Lois Griffin: Peter! You're bribing your daughter with a car?
    Peter Griffin: Ah, c'mon, Lois, isn't 'bribe' just another word for 'love'?

  5. #5
    Full Member merikiito's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Northampton
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : Insignia CDTi SRi NAV 160

    Trim : SRi

    Engine : A20DTH

    Year : 2009

    Mileage : 88000

    Default

    Is it a virgin superhub? or a virgin supplied router?
    Lois Griffin: Peter! You're bribing your daughter with a car?
    Peter Griffin: Ah, c'mon, Lois, isn't 'bribe' just another word for 'love'?

  6. #6
    Regular Member J P S's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    Birmingham
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : 2007 1.9cdti sri 150 estate

    Trim : sri

    Engine : 1.9cdti 150

    Year : 2007

    Default

    tried that, the broadband was down from sunday till about tuesday then worked fine for one night on laptop and phones.

    then last night wouldnt work again, wont even find the signal now.

    i did try unplugging the router and the modem last night but it made no difference. i even tried resetting the router that didnt change things either.

    the router itself cant be completely ko'd as my skt+ uses homeplugs through it and that still works and my laptop works if plugged into the homeplugs

  7. #7
    Regular Member J P S's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    Birmingham
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : 2007 1.9cdti sri 150 estate

    Trim : sri

    Engine : 1.9cdti 150

    Year : 2007

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by merikiito View Post
    Is it a virgin superhub? or a virgin supplied router?
    tbh i cant recall where i got the router from, its a linksys but i cant recall if virgin supplied it or i did.

    the modem is theirs tho

  8. #8
    Full Member merikiito's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Northampton
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : Insignia CDTi SRi NAV 160

    Trim : SRi

    Engine : A20DTH

    Year : 2009

    Mileage : 88000

    Default

    Maybe someone has turned the wireless off in the router, have you tried to go into the router settings?
    Lois Griffin: Peter! You're bribing your daughter with a car?
    Peter Griffin: Ah, c'mon, Lois, isn't 'bribe' just another word for 'love'?

  9. #9
    Regular Member J P S's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    Birmingham
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : 2007 1.9cdti sri 150 estate

    Trim : sri

    Engine : 1.9cdti 150

    Year : 2007

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by merikiito View Post
    Maybe someone has turned the wireless off in the router, have you tried to go into the router settings?
    someone would be me as its only me that messes with these things lol.

    i havent actually, will check that tonight.

    although that wouldnt really make sense because it worked tuesday night and i didnt touch the router again until it wouldnt work weds night. will check it still but doubt its that.

  10. #10
    Full Member merikiito's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Northampton
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : Insignia CDTi SRi NAV 160

    Trim : SRi

    Engine : A20DTH

    Year : 2009

    Mileage : 88000

    Default

    I have had a few linksys routers and they have packed up without notice so it may well be the router.

    when you get back turn everything off then turn the virgin box on wait 2 mins, turn the router on wait 2 mins then try and see if you can find the wireless
    Lois Griffin: Peter! You're bribing your daughter with a car?
    Peter Griffin: Ah, c'mon, Lois, isn't 'bribe' just another word for 'love'?

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Virgin Broadband Router Help
    By spennny in forum The 'Off Topic' room
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: 3rd June 2009, 08:17
  2. Best router
    By yorkshireborn in forum The 'Off Topic' room
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 11th May 2009, 18:43
  3. Linksys Cable Broadband Router
    By stuart bigboy in forum General items for sale
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 16th July 2008, 17:13
  4. What router do i need???
    By Auto-Brite in forum General Chat
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 24th November 2007, 15:52
  5. Replies: 12
    Last Post: 29th November 2006, 10:17

Visitors found this page by searching for:

Nobody landed on this page from a search engine, yet!

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •