User Tag List

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12

Thread: headlight adjust

  1. #1
    Banned for Being a Numpty
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default headlight adjust

    headlight adjustment dont work any idears,i bought car as repo so it came with no books so dont know what fuses to check, all i know is the switch knob dont work,im hoping its a fuse,but both headlights dont work...?

  2. #2
    Full Member Z80's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Noumea
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    3 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    3 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Yes, the black wire supplies the ignition +12 V via a fuse.

    It's the FE8 fuse that you'll find in the under bonnet fusebox.

    It's the second fuse from the left when you look at the fusebox from the left side of the car, outer rear block (so the nearest and rightmost to you , the long one with two rows of fuses), upper row.

    If cleaning or changing the fuse still won't bring back the headlights height adjustment to work, then it might be your headlight control block, as I can't imagine the two motors failing at the same time.

    Also try to clean up the X1 connector (the one plugged at the back of the headlight control block) with contacts cleaner spray.

    Now if it's just the fuse, then be aware that fuses never fail without a reason. Either a wire might be pinched and touches the car body somewhere, or one of the levelling motors coil might be shorted. In these cases, the fuse will blow again : if it happens, immediately remove the motors out of the headlights housings and smell them : the burnt coil should then be obviously noticed.

    Too bad a friend of mine binned a motor after he changed the pair (as they're apparently not sold alone). We told him on the forum he should have kept it for spare, though... He wanted to give it away, but I've got xenon headlights and the motors are different. I hate wasting ! LOL

  3. #3
    Banned for Being a Numpty
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    well i werent fussed b4 but now i got xenon hid id like to be able to ajust,any way of fitting the oem xenon motors that move ? or is that another thing altogether? im going to have a look at the fuse today
    cheers

  4. #4
    Banned for Being a Numpty
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    well i werent fussed b4 but now i got xenon hid id like to be able to ajust,any way of fitting the oem xenon motors that move ? or is that another thing altogether? im going to have a look at the fuse today
    cheers

  5. #5
    Banned for Being a Numpty
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    u say fe8 fuse? i checked all the tiny fuses and all ok,wheres that control box?

  6. #6
    Full Member Z80's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Noumea
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    3 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    3 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    It's just the buttons block from the dash.

    To get it out, push the big central rotary button, then still pushing it down, turn it to central position : this will release the tabs and you'll be able to get the whole block out just holding the button.

    The X1 connector has a black plastic release clamp you just have to turn around the blue connector and to get it out by itself.

    You'll check the contacts, but I'm afraid I never heard about problems there. The levelling button itself might be the problem.

    BTW, it's not very difficult to open. Just boring, actually. You'll have to unclip all the small tabs around the top part, then the bottom part is held by 4 small torx screws accessible from inside.

    The rotary buttons inside involve metal brushes running on graphite tracks on the printed circuit, so if you're always changing your headlights level, then you might have scratched them badly so they got completely worn over time.

    If you can't fix them there, then you'll probably have tio change the whole block. You'll find quite a lot of cheap ones on eBay (xenon auto levelling models like mine are far rarer actually).



    About retrofiting xenon headlights and auto levelling sensors, you can check Kenp's excellent topic here :

    http://www.vectra-c.com/forum/showth...o-fitted/page9

    You'll have to buy some additional parts, though, and get another headlight switchbox (kind # 4 here) :

    http://opeloem.com/vauxhall/vectra_c...ps_fitted.html

  7. #7
    Banned for Being a Numpty
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    ive got type3 so if change that and it still wownt work what u rekon motors,but like u said weird that both broke??? cheers bud !!!

  8. #8
    Regular Member marktaylor's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    ive got one of those type 3 headlight blocks a work if you need one

  9. #9
    Banned for Being a Numpty
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    how much pal? could u check if it works too,be gr8 thanks, i pulled my old one apart and everything looks ok,no other way to test it is there?

  10. #10
    Banned for Being a Numpty
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    right got a whole new light switch still nothing,any idears?

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. headlight adjust main beam
    By vectraross in forum Vectra C / Signum Car Chat
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 10th November 2012, 19:09
  2. Handbrake adjust
    By st2malo in forum Bodywork & Interior
    Replies: 28
    Last Post: 16th January 2011, 12:47
  3. how do i adjust my headlights??
    By bangty 1 in forum Vectra C / Signum Car Chat
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 19th October 2010, 16:41
  4. Help please, how to adjust the headlights
    By PeterVV in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 6th October 2010, 21:10
  5. Clock adjust
    By johnny1983 in forum Vectra C / Signum Car Chat
    Replies: 17
    Last Post: 28th October 2009, 18:12

Visitors found this page by searching for:

vectra c headlight motor fuse www.vectra-c.com

how to adjust vectra c headlights www.vectra-c.com

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •