User Tag List

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Speedo wiring

  1. #1
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    Doncaster
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Speedo wiring

    Hi does anyone know which wires on the back of the speedo will power up the mileage display?
    My clocks are knackered after I melted the milage display ribbon lol.
    Im going to the scrap yard tomoz to get a new set but I want to check mileage before I buy it.
    I want to be able to power it up to check items alot of the cars where I go have wires chopped all over do I don't want to power the full car incase it blows the new clocks as its just my luck.
    So if anyone knows which wires I need for this I would be gratefull.
    Cheers Dan

  2. #2
    Full Member andy.l's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Wirral / ellesmere port
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    6 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    6 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    12 volt supply is the red wire
    ground is the brown wire

    im sure you probably find that these will power the clocks up
    2011 insignia elite tourer 2.0 cdti 160 manual,silver

  3. #3
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    Doncaster
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Nice one mate will give it a go!
    Do they need 12v or would they power up with 6v?
    I know that's sounds daft but as all the LEDs are only 3v surely it would power up all the lights?
    Any ideas please?
    Cheers Dan

  4. #4
    Full Member andy.l's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Wirral / ellesmere port
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    6 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    6 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    im not sure tbh

    but you think of it wen you turn ya ignition on it then gives 12v supply which then all ya instrument lights up
    wether it work i don`t know as you`ve also got more wiring going to the clocks ie canbus etc so wether it will
    work i dont know,your best doing the check on other clocks first to see if it works and if so then do it to
    the one you want.


    let us know how you get on
    2011 insignia elite tourer 2.0 cdti 160 manual,silver

  5. #5
    Full Member Z80's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Noumea
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    3 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    3 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Here is the wiring :

    Red = Permanent +12 V supply -> F117 fuse (dash fusebox, outer side)

    Black = Ignition +12 V -> F126 fuse (dash fusebox, outer side)

    Grey/yellow = Instrument lighting -> BCM via XC31 connector, diectly into the BCM module (no fuse)

    Brown = Ground -> to car body (so no fuse either)

    Brown/yellow = ECU -> X1 connector in dash (no fuse)

    Green = Low speed CAN bus (still no fuse)

    If your speedos aren't working then yes, it might be one of the two fuses for battery or ignition power supply.

    But if it's just the lighting, then you'll find no fuse for it.

    In this case, if you're lucky, you may try to clean the huge XC31 connector with electronic contacts cleaner spray in case you just have humidity problems, but it might well be bad news, as a lot of people started like you and ended with doors not opening, lights always lit and alarm sounding...

    So it actually might be your BCM module going to die.

    The BCM situated to the back of the same fuses panel you access from the dash outer end hatch, so it's under the dash to the side of the car (not sure if it's to the left or right side of the car on Vauxhalls, as mine is an Opel left hand drive and my fuse box is to the left (driver) side - but you understand what I mean : it may be under the glovebox on yours - or not if your fusebox is on the right side).

    I think you should get you car diagnosed with a Tech2 or Vaux-Com first.

  6. #6
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    Doncaster
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Hi thanks for the wiring help but my clocks work just the mileage dosent as I melted the ribbon!
    I wanted the wiring info to check the ones in the scrap yard if the scrap car as damaged wires and not possible by just putting a batterry on.
    Cheers Dan

  7. #7
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    Doncaster
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Well the guy at scrappy wouldn't allow me to use a battery as all the fuel tanks in the yard are pierced and he said it was I fire hazard. So I took a guess between all the vectra's and ruled out 02 taxi and 06 looked like business car so thought both would be high mileage!
    All the others where petrol or had no clocks left, which left me with a really tidy (apart from accident damage) 02 elegance with 160mph clocks with chrome rings got home and tried them look really nice and mileage is less than 1k different to mine so I will leave it.
    All in all I think a good day!
    Now to LED it but carefully lol
    Dan

  8. #8
    Full Member andy.l's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Wirral / ellesmere port
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    6 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    6 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    oh thats good news m8,glad you sorted it and thanks for the update


    2011 insignia elite tourer 2.0 cdti 160 manual,silver

  9. #9
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    Doncaster
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    No worries mate! I just ordered more LEDs as I'm a few short then when it's all complete I will post some pics up!
    Cheers Dan

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. abs wiring questions/ rising beeping speedo
    By stret in forum Suspension, Wheels & Brakes
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 20th January 2013, 22:58
  2. speedo led
    By VECTRAMAN in forum Vectra C / Signum Car Chat
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 12th December 2012, 20:03
  3. speedo
    By twaiter in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 21st June 2009, 10:36
  4. Speedo?
    By Messenger in forum Vectra C / Signum Car Chat
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 12th February 2009, 14:25

Visitors found this page by searching for:

Nobody landed on this page from a search engine, yet!

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •