User Tag List

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12

Thread: what amp wire is needed?

  1. #1
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    scotland
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default what amp wire is needed?

    putting in a rear 12v power outlet and need to know what amp wire to use ? taking feed from front cig lighter .
    cheers

  2. #2
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Wigan
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : Vectra

    Trim : Exclusive

    Engine : 1.9 CDTI


    Default

    I know the rear socket in mine says 120W maximum, which is 10A. I'd be tempted to use something like this http://www.halfords.com/webapp/wcs/s...egoryId_255229
    for safety sake since the handbook says the cigarette lighter is run from a 30A fuse, which could give in theory a maximum of 360W @ 12V. I know you'd have to be pushing it to draw that amount from a ciggy lighter unless you were using something like an inverter, but personally I'd use as close to or higher than 30A wire. I'm sure someone with more electrical knowledge can give you a more informed opinion.

  3. #3
    North West Regional Organiser paulvectrac's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    morecambe
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    44 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : vectra

    Trim : vxr

    Engine : 2.8 v6 turbo

    Year : 2007

    Default

    Speaker wire would work mate no probs but I would use 1mm plenty is that
    Vectra vxr custome remaps egr deletes dpf and diagnostic work all remaps are custome bench tuning avalible all genuine equipment PM for info

  4. #4
    North West Regional Organiser paulvectrac's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    morecambe
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    44 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : vectra

    Trim : vxr

    Engine : 2.8 v6 turbo

    Year : 2007

    Default

    **** me Dave that cable would run a house lmao
    Vectra vxr custome remaps egr deletes dpf and diagnostic work all remaps are custome bench tuning avalible all genuine equipment PM for info

  5. #5
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    scotland
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    cheers lads , Dave I think that might be a bit heavy duty , I'll get the 17 amp stuff from halfords for it .

  6. #6
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Wigan
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : Vectra

    Trim : Exclusive

    Engine : 1.9 CDTI


    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by paulvectrac View Post
    **** me Dave that cable would run a house lmao
    Ha ha, maybe it would be a bit much. I just assumed you would need wire rated similar to the fuse on the circuit. Just found this site http://www.the12voltshop.co.uk/Shop/...ble-sizes.html, it might be useful.

  7. #7
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Norway
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    I think I would have used 4 or 6mm, dependably on the length of the cable, it's not just the current draw to keep in mind, but also the voltage drop. Smaller cable = higher voltage drop.
    The reason to the 120w limit on the cigarette/power outlet, is because the outlet can't handle higher current.
    I have burn't out several standard ones because of that, that was with cigarette outlet-driven warning light bars with halogen bulbs, 110w. Most of them can't handle that over hours.

  8. #8
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    scotland
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    its only to charge a kids games console

  9. #9
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    scotland
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    ok , had a look under console and there is a 2 pin connector block not attached to anything one black one brown wire , what is it ? also the front lighter has same 2 pin plug into that and another single one too , what is what here someone help me out here

  10. #10
    Regular Member Mark-R's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Dundee
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : GSI

    Trim : (vxr/irmy)

    Engine : 3.2 v6

    Year : 2004

    Default

    Sure the 2 pin one is for the ashtray light and the single one i don't have a clue im sure someone will correct me if im wrong.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. What wire do I cut lol
    By roverjay in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 8th November 2012, 09:01
  2. Which Wire ?
    By Ste in forum The 'Off Topic' room
    Replies: 20
    Last Post: 9th September 2012, 22:24
  3. Is this an ABS Wire?
    By asgharuk in forum Vectra C / Signum Car Chat
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 6th September 2012, 19:32
  4. 12 wire
    By decks in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 16th December 2010, 22:02
  5. can you wire in an amp into....
    By jamesy in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 12th February 2007, 18:23

Visitors found this page by searching for:

Nobody landed on this page from a search engine, yet!

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •