User Tag List

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 15

Thread: No aircon!

  1. #1
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    northamtponshire
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default No aircon!

    Hi guys

    When I switch fans on I only get warm air or air that's the same temp as outside. I rang an aircon company local to me who offer a full service and recharge for £59. They have very good reviews so I'm not concerned about tthem but the guy did say that a common problem with the vectra was the air con condenser failing. I have a 57 plate cdti Sri 150bhp.
    Hes quoted £260 for new part fitting and charging the system if it is that.

  2. #2
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    stratford upon avon
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    here is a few threads i found for you

    http://www.vectra-c.com/forum/search...earchid=175428

  3. #3
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    stratford upon avon
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    when mine was not getting cold enough i just took a gamble and got it re gassed for 40 pounds but that was a few years ago and its been fine since

    i believe its around 50 pounds now for a re gass

  4. #4
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    stratford upon avon
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

  5. #5
    Regular Member pompey-pimp's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Fareham Hampshire
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    I got mine vac'd and regassed at Kwik fit on Saturday. They charge £49 and if there is no difference in temp then you don't pay. He tested mine and said that it was holding pressure but there was no temp difference so didn't charge, happy days but I thought the system was knackered as the missus had left it off for so long. Anyway driving down the road I flick through the settings and noticed the aircon was turned off. Turned it on and instant cold air. It was a bit smelly and because it had sat idle for so long I used an aircon cleaner and now the whole car is smelling nice and it's cold inside.
    I would recommend taking it to kwik fit as it's no loss if it doesn't work where as the others will charge for it regardless

    Not teaching you to suck eggs but do you have it turned on in the menu?

  6. #6
    Regular Member Mr Owens's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    Wickford
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    I re-gassed mine a couple of weeks ago at work and I've noticed I've got a couple of very small pin holes in my condenser (uv dye in the oil) at the moment it's working fine but when it packs up I'll just chuck a new condenser in and re-gas it at work (for free )

  7. #7
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    northamtponshire
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    I may need to buy some eggs, but... Turned it on in the menu?? What menu

  8. #8
    Regular Member pompey-pimp's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Fareham Hampshire
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    On mine i have a dial button that when i push it it accesses the main menu on the centre dash screen from where i can select aircon on or off.

  9. #9
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Oxfordshire
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    3 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    3 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by babilon2 View Post
    Turned it on in the menu?? What menu
    Only applies if you've got climate control. Because CC runs all the time, you can go into a menu via the CC panel and switch the AC into eco mode.

  10. #10
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    northamtponshire
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Ah right, no climate control here just a pretty little button with a snowflake! Well the guy is turning up tomorrow and will do the pressure test and uv dye stuff and we shall wait and see what the diagnosis is!

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Aircon problems - Not working, if anything air gets hotter turning on aircon???
    By Coupe2T in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 30th July 2012, 10:13
  2. Aircon
    By GoldenWonder in forum Bodywork & Interior
    Replies: 36
    Last Post: 20th June 2012, 18:18
  3. aircon help
    By jimmywhu in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 12th April 2012, 01:33
  4. aircon
    By eminemme42 in forum Vectra C / Signum Car Chat
    Replies: 17
    Last Post: 3rd April 2012, 13:32
  5. Change aircon to auto-aircon?
    By um20 in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 20th March 2007, 22:12

Visitors found this page by searching for:

Nobody landed on this page from a search engine, yet!

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •