User Tag List

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: New head unit problems

  1. #1
    Regular Member adierolfe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Corris
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Angry New head unit problems

    Right. Bought a new head unit from Halfords and I do not have a clue how to fit it...

    I pulled the old unit out and removed the harness, only to find the new one doesnt fit.

    So I put the old over the new head unit, fits good but the harness covers up the wire connection.

    And the adapter cable from halfords connects the the HU but not to the Signum - he checked on his PC to see what one was needed.

  2. #2
    Regular Member adierolfe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Corris
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    I swapped the red and yellow around and the HU made a noise (cd laser moving?) but there is nothing else on the HU. No lights, or display.

  3. #3
    Regular Member adierolfe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Corris
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Hmm so. I need the engine running when I turn on the HU but it works once engine is turned off - until key is removed from the ignition.

    How have you guys wired up the mic for the bluetooth? Where did you run the wire?

  4. #4
    Regular Member J P S's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    Birmingham
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : 2007 1.9cdti sri 150 estate

    Trim : sri

    Engine : 1.9cdti 150

    Year : 2007

    Default

    my bluetooth wire is run behind the dash ( easy to remove glovebox) and up the a pillar to the alarm bit by the mirror

  5. #5
    Full Member coldo's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Scotland
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Can you answer a few questions on this and I might be able to help more...

    What head unit have you bought?
    What age is your car and is it half can bus (three buttons on the steering wheel) or full can bus (two buttons and a scrole whee on the steering wheel)
    Do you have a TID (two line display), GID (on board computer display) or CID (colour display for sat nav etc?

    From this I should be able to confirm what the wiring harness is you need, what you need to get the steering wheel controls to work and how to best connect the head unit up.

  6. #6
    Regular Member adierolfe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Corris
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by coldo View Post
    Can you answer a few questions on this and I might be able to help more...

    What head unit have you bought?
    What age is your car and is it half can bus (three buttons on the steering wheel) or full can bus (two buttons and a scrole whee on the steering wheel)
    Do you have a TID (two line display), GID (on board computer display) or CID (colour display for sat nav etc?

    From this I should be able to confirm what the wiring harness is you need, what you need to get the steering wheel controls to work and how to best connect the head unit up.
    Its a JVC kwr600bt. Its 2004 Signum with half can. And its a GID. Should have said earlier.

  7. #7
    Full Member coldo's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Scotland
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    ahhhh... right... I have a JVC head unit also running in my 2004 half can bus vectra...

    The problem you are having is the constant power is connected tot he Acc and the Acc is to the constant (I think they are the yellow and red wires which are the wrong way round). Swapping these over should sort the issues your having over the radio powering up. It will only come on when the keys are in the ignition turned to a min of possition one.

    So what you will need (it's what I used and itr worked first time) is the following...

    Connects2 CTSVX001 - Vauxhall Astra, Corsa, Omega, Vectra, Zafira Steering Stalk Adaptor selecting the standard JVC patch lead.
    http://www.dynamicsounds.co.uk/conne...or-p-9112.html

    and an Autoleads PC5-27 - Vauxhall ISO to Din Antenna Aerial Adaptor
    http://www.dynamicsounds.co.uk/autol...r-p-15114.html

    You simply fit the wiring following the instructions provided. Make sure that the power feeds are not reversed (yellow to yello and red to red) on the head unit wiring. The patch lead needs to be bullet connected to the wired steering wheel control wire as per the install manual.

    As for the blue tooth mic. I found the easiest way is to take the glove box out, pull back the door runber seal strip, loosen the passenger sun visor screws and finaly pull down the infrared alarm sessors. I then ran the mic cable from the drivers side of the infrared sensors roight accross the room, down the a piller but the rubber stip, behind the glove box and into the radio. It might seem like a faf but is the easiest way and provides the best reception. all you need is a T20 scrediver.

    Have you fitted a facia kit for the radio? If not then this should do the job also...
    http://www.dynamicsounds.co.uk/conne...it-p-8626.html

    That lot should see you sorted. Let me know if you need more help...

  8. #8
    Full Member coldo's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Scotland
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Oh, the guys at Dynamic Sound are dead helpfull also... So if your in any doubt you can just call them and talk them through what you want / need. They will sort you out...

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Head unit problems
    By ianuk in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 5th February 2010, 18:14
  2. sony head unit problems
    By pyper_honda in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 11th August 2009, 01:00
  3. head unit
    By fixerman in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 11th August 2007, 21:47
  4. Head Unit problems Turn on/off/on/off
    By danlat1415 in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 7th April 2006, 17:42
  5. Head Unit problems Turn on/off/on/off
    By danlat1415 in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 7th April 2006, 14:20

Visitors found this page by searching for:

Nobody landed on this page from a search engine, yet!

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •