User Tag List

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: My key fob is magic but I don't know why !

  1. #1
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Maidstone, Kent
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : Vectra

    Trim : Elite

    Engine : 3.0 CDTI 184

    Year : 2007

    Cool My key fob is magic but I don't know why !

    Hi guys,

    I got 2 remote locking keys when I bought my Vectra (2.0dti LS 03 plate), 1 works perfectly but the other doesn't start the engine, when I try to start the engine with the 2nd key a padlock symbol comes up, I know about the chips in the keys etc & being a bloke I decided it would be a good idea to get the chip out of the 1st key & pop it into the 2nd key to test it, but there is no chip in the first key !

    Look at this pic- it has a chip but mine doesn't ( http://www.google.co.uk/imgres?um=1&...9,r:0,s:0,i:76 ), although that's what mine looks like on that photo the actually key part of the fob has the number 770 but both my keys have the number 105.
    Basically I want both keys working so my mrs can have a key but haven't got a clue why 1 key works & 1 doesn't, I've looked inside & they are both identical, do I have a freaky car or am I just a bit of a plum missing the obvious ? Please enlighten me !!!

  2. #2
    Full Member plasma's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    On the Forum
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    1
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    346 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : Vectra

    Trim : SRi

    Engine : 150

    Year : 05

    Mileage : 74000

    Default

    vec c keys dont have a chip like that, its part of the circuit board in the remote plip

    It either needs programming to the car of the immobilser part of the key is faulty
    Plasma's Tech2 services are now open and able to provide services

  3. #3
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Maidstone, Kent
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : Vectra

    Trim : Elite

    Engine : 3.0 CDTI 184

    Year : 2007

    Default

    Cheers Plasma, am I right in saying that once a blank chip has been programmed (sticking it in the ignition & holding a button for 2 seconds) it has to reprogrammed by vauxhall if its not working now ?

  4. #4
    Full Member plasma's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    On the Forum
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    1
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    346 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : Vectra

    Trim : SRi

    Engine : 150

    Year : 05

    Mileage : 74000

    Default

    you cant program blank chips like that. It has to be programmed via tech2. If the battery in the remote goes flat it will refuse to open the central locking but will still work the engine as the chip for that works independantly... From what your saying its either one of 2 things, its never been programmed to the car or that part of it is faulty, and you'll need a new remote, you can swap the blade over...
    Plasma's Tech2 services are now open and able to provide services

  5. #5
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Maidstone, Kent
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : Vectra

    Trim : Elite

    Engine : 3.0 CDTI 184

    Year : 2007

    Default

    Thanks for the info plasma, you just saved me £50 ! I saw blank Vectra zappers on eBay & was going to get 1, just so you know you can reprogram a zapper by sticking it in the ignition & holding the lock button for 2-3 secs if your battery dies & you replace the battery (done that plenty of times !) Beyond that I will just find a garage with tech 2 & get them to sort it, thanks again !

  6. #6
    Full Member plasma's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    On the Forum
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    1
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    346 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : Vectra

    Trim : SRi

    Engine : 150

    Year : 05

    Mileage : 74000

    Default

    your not reprogramming it that way, your just re-syncing it. the rolling codes they generate get out of sync and it just sorts itself out.
    Plasma's Tech2 services are now open and able to provide services

  7. #7
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Maidstone, Kent
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : Vectra

    Trim : Elite

    Engine : 3.0 CDTI 184

    Year : 2007

    Default

    Ah that makes sense ! Thanks again Plasma !

  8. #8
    Regular Member Sierra2's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    London
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : Vectra C

    Trim : SRI

    Engine : 1.9cdti (120)

    Year : 2007

    Mileage : 45k

    Default

    Does the ignition need to be turned on when trying the re-sync?

  9. #9
    Regular Member MrDerv's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    North East (Beamish)
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Yes, to position 2. Re-syncing requires the ignition on, press the lock and unlock buttons 3 times, then turn off the ignition.

    This will only work if the keyfob was already programmed to the car

  10. #10
    Regular Member nokiaman1978's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Glasgow
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    unlock car with key, alarm will go off when you open door, put key in and turn to ignition 2, key now synced.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Anyone do magic?
    By Ben_ in forum The 'Off Topic' room
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 31st July 2011, 19:28
  2. Magic sat nav...
    By peppered in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 1st October 2009, 02:57
  3. Re-map or magic box?
    By Syvlie in forum Diesel Engine related
    Replies: 25
    Last Post: 24th January 2008, 21:54
  4. As If By Magic !!!!
    By PSV6 in forum Vectra C / Signum Car Chat
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 20th February 2007, 23:25
  5. Magic Roundabout
    By CPHB in forum General Chat
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 21st July 2005, 08:36

Visitors found this page by searching for:

Nobody landed on this page from a search engine, yet!

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •