User Tag List

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Results 1 to 3 of 3

Thread: Fitting two head units

  1. #1
    Regular Member ste w's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Widnes
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default Fitting two head units

    Is it possible to fit 2 head units in the double din space in the vectra dash. The reason I ask is that I have a single din DVD player that I would like to install below a cd head unit in my dash so my little girl can watch dvds on rear screens.

    Had a search but can't see anything mentioned and the only facias I can find only accept one head unit and have a tray below it.

    Thanks

  2. #2
    Regular Member rich r's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Selby
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    The CCR2006 in upper range pre-facelift Vectras is effectively two single din units, admittedly hidden behind a single plastic faceplate. The top one is a radio/cassette, the bottom is a 4 disc CD changer. They're simply held together with a couple of brackets.

    There's no reason at all why you can't physically mount them - though you might have to make up some brackets (just get some Meccano or 1mm aluminium strips you can drill holes in). On the side of most head units are threaded holes for mounting, as Japanese and some American cars mount the headunit to brackets on each side that then bolt to the dashboard, rather than the cage system used by most European makes.

    Electrically though, you'll have to make up an adapter to supply power to the second unit, and decide what you're doing with it's speaker outputs. You can't just link them together, or one head unit's amplifier will damage the other one. But you could take the front speakers to the top head unit, and the back speakers to the bottom one for example.

  3. #3
    Regular Member ste w's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Widnes
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    I mean the facia side of it really. Wiring them up won't be a problem, I wire up fighter planes for a living lol.

    I just want them to integrate into the dash nicer. I may have to buy a facia for the double din after market stereos and try it, but would rather hear from someone who's tried it before.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. anyone got one of these all in head units
    By frigosolver in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 23
    Last Post: 15th February 2012, 16:20
  2. Head units
    By bigmac in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 8th June 2009, 16:18
  3. How programmable are the Vxl head units???
    By MrT in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 1st December 2008, 00:40
  4. 2 Head Units
    By seanyis in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 15th November 2008, 21:05
  5. What Head Units play Mp3...?
    By Dan_BlackSRi in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 19th August 2008, 14:57

Visitors found this page by searching for:

Nobody landed on this page from a search engine, yet!

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •