User Tag List

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 16

Thread: New Hardware today

  1. #1
    On a Sabbatical VauxVeteran's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Nicking Ya Dinner.
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default New Hardware Today

    Gigabyte 965
    Intel Core2Duo E6300
    BFX 7300 OC GT
    1Gig 800 mhz 240 pin

    Findings to follow.

  2. #2
    [Ex]Admin Duncan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    East Sussex
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Nice! Running with SATA?

    I'm about to upgrade my innards and likely to go with the E6600.

  3. #3
    On a Sabbatical VauxVeteran's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Nicking Ya Dinner.
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    O' course.

    Still finding my way around it, both my drives were set up as VIA ones, so I've patched one up to stay in service so to speak, but to really gain from it i think a fresh install is required.


    One was on a budget, I got the Gig board after reading up on it, it's supposed to clock like a Ferrari, and the 6300 was around £120, where the 6600 is pushing £300 right now.
    Last edited by VauxVeteran; 5th December 2006 at 19:31.

  4. #4
    Regular Member Green Growler's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Hertfordshire
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Core2Due rocks, my new lappy has a T5600 1.83ghz one of them.

  5. #5
    [Ex]Admin Duncan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    East Sussex
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by VauxVeteran View Post
    ....and the 6300 was around £120, where the 6600 is pushing £300 right now.
    Not sure where you were looking VV, but the 6600 is 'only' £200. It's the 6700 that is around £300 and only really worth it if you're into overclocking etc. I'm not interested in that, and certainly not paying an extra £100 for the privilege, hence the 6600 being on my list.

    D

  6. #6
    On a Sabbatical VauxVeteran's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Nicking Ya Dinner.
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    I was going on guess work at the time D, I know the 6400 is around 160, and as the clock goes higher so does the money, have a read up, this 6300 can be clocked to 6800 speeds if you have the right kit, will try to find the reviews for ya, no point spending extra if you dont need to.

  7. #7
    On a Sabbatical VauxVeteran's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Nicking Ya Dinner.
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default New Hardware today

    I've just upgraded my machine to an E6300 Intel jobby from an old AMD 2.7 Athlon.

    Due to the hype of the Intel product I went out and had to get fully kitted, i.e memory PCI-e card and Motherboard.

    After a week of messing around I have to conclude it's all another **** n' bull story, I think my XP was every bit as fast and way more stable.

    Maybe things will improve when Vista arrives *tries to keep a straight face* and the 64 bit can prove itself, but right now I feel had like I did when I jumped in the nForce chip fiasco of a few years back, maybe a few bios ups and driver ups will sort it into something good, but right now avoid it, all the stuff you will read about it has been written by Intel and posted on sites as marketing, one and only time I've bought Intel over AMD, and it wont happen again!

    F.T.O Duncan.

    Stand off it for a while mate, I know you were interested the other day, but it doesn't do Ferrari impressions over older stuff like they like to tell you it does.

  8. #8
    spoons
    Guest

    Default

    Known as "bleading edge" technology...

  9. #9
    Regular Member JuzzyD's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Somewhere...
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    It depends on what you do with your PC - if you do a lot of media work then it was a good upgrade, if you just browse the web, send a few emails and write the odd letter it wasn't.

    Concerned you mention stability - are you sure you've sorted the BIOS and drivers?

  10. #10
    On a Sabbatical VauxVeteran's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Nicking Ya Dinner.
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by JuzzyD View Post
    It depends on what you do with your PC - if you do a lot of media work then it was a good upgrade, if you just browse the web, send a few emails and write the odd letter it wasn't.

    Concerned you mention stability - are you sure you've sorted the BIOS and drivers?
    I do do a lot of editing as I use the PC as a video recorder a lot, taking out adverts from tv shows etc.

    The Gigabyte board has 6 Sata11 slots on it, 4 are Intel controlled ones and 2 Gigabyte hybrids, the Gig ones are hopeless, insert a cd and the machine locks, the Intel ones are better but I cannot really see any improvement on the AMD of old, I've also put another strip of matched memory in running dual channel, the only thing that does seem to have got better is my game graphics, hotplugging is hit and miss as well, sometimes it locks, sometimes it will bsod, I have set the bios options in many configs as well from fail safe to tinkered, I think I'll run the utility for updates soon and see what that finds.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Hardware shop
    By Doug-SRidirect in forum Comedy & Humour
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 21st December 2014, 11:58
  2. One for people who know laptop hardware
    By plasma in forum The 'Off Topic' room
    Replies: 25
    Last Post: 14th January 2012, 22:47
  3. Vauxcom software/hardware
    By plasma in forum How much is it worth? (THIS SECTION IS NOW CLOSED)
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 23rd October 2008, 21:05
  4. Georgia V Russia ~ Hardware
    By Deadman in forum General Chat
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: 11th August 2008, 16:25
  5. PC Hardware Duffer List
    By VauxVeteran in forum General Chat
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 14th May 2007, 23:10

Visitors found this page by searching for:

Nobody landed on this page from a search engine, yet!

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •