User Tag List

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Display

  1. #1
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    Kent
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Display

    Hi can a display gid etc be taken out of fafelift vents and put in preface lift vents ?

    Which display came as standard in a cd40 ?

    Cheers

  2. #2
    Full Member Niall83's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Belfast
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    GID is standard with the CDC40 not sure about the swap but I don't see why not but I'm sure someone will correct me if I'm wrong.
    AirBox Mod-Angel Eye head lights-HID 5000k-Colour coded grill-GID to CID-Auto Dim rear view Mirror, Rear Parking Sensors, Signum Fog surrounds, 19" Audi A5 rep Alloys, Eibach 30mm Pro-kit Lowering Springs.
    Northern Ireland Region trip to Knockhill 2014

  3. #3
    Regular Member Robsey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    North East Cheshire
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    6 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    6 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    I think that only the Facelift CID cannot be fitted to a pre-facelift display surround.

    Facelift CID's are "wide-screen" format...

    ALL other displays are not, however do note that with some minor modification, you can get a facelift vent surround to fit a pre-facelift unit.

    I did this for the wife's 2005 Vectra, when I fitted a 2006 CD70 and CID.

    The GID is indeed the standard display for the CDC40 (Opera) with and without DAB.

  4. #4
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    Kent
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    brill guys, Robsey how do you get it to fit ?

  5. #5
    Regular Member Robsey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    North East Cheshire
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    6 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    6 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Basicly, I ground the top 3 or 4 mm (approx 1/8") from the top of the surround.
    The facelift surround is rounded along the top edge.
    I ground hers flat along the top. Do note though that the rounded corners will still be there.

    I then pushed the display up whilst screwing the 4 self-tappers back into place

    If you don't do this, then the trim strip (that runs from above the glove box, and goes under the vent surround), will not fit in under the vent surround.

    Here is an image from e-bay, which I have modified to shows where to grind the top surface flat.
    Attached Images Attached Images

  6. #6
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    Kent
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Cheers

  7. #7
    Regular Member TonyP2020's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Wirral, UK
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    The GID is indeed the standard display for the CDC40 (Opera) with and without DAB.
    Ahh, well, not all of them. I had an FL 06 Exclusiv 1.9CDTi (Reg No started FL06 too!!) and paid £400 extra for a factory fitted upgrade to a CDC40, but this came with a TID.

    Miserable sods at Vauxhall.

    In fact I never had a GID display until I retro-fitted one in my own 53 plate 2.0DTi, bought with my own money, the Vectra's before that one were all company cars.
    Last edited by TonyP2020; 16th May 2012 at 21:38.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Replacing Board Info Display (BID) with Color Info display (CID)
    By grigs1 in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 49
    Last Post: 11th April 2012, 22:13
  2. mp3 on display
    By marc vectra sri in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 27th August 2011, 14:54
  3. PS3 display
    By @ndy-e in forum Games Room
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 27th December 2010, 08:21
  4. temp display on radio display
    By MRunMotorsport in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 19th April 2010, 15:55
  5. LED DIsplay
    By dcraigen in forum Vectra C / Signum Car Chat
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 18th September 2008, 10:16

Visitors found this page by searching for:

Nobody landed on this page from a search engine, yet!

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •