User Tag List

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: One for the electrical geniuses

  1. #1
    Regular Member marktaylor's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default One for the electrical geniuses

    How can I check if something in the car is drawing current from the battery all he time
    Had battery checked at halfords yesterday with a tool they have and it came up noise on the battery , meaning something was drawing current
    Checked everything was off and it still did it
    Unplugged my parrot and it came up fine , although battery was unserviceable
    I just want to know how to check if the parrot is draining the battery all the time

    Any ideas how to do it


    Sent from my iPhone using My thumb

  2. #2
    Full Member Knight Rider's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Motherwell
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : Vectra C SRi 1.8vvti

    Trim : Sri

    Engine : 18.vvti

    Year : 2007

    Mileage : 29,500

    Default

    Nicked off yahoo answers Mark

    Disconnect the battery cable, and connect a test light between the cable and the battery terminal. The light will come on.
    With the doors closed, check for glove box light, trunk light, engine compartment light etc. Make sure the courtesy lights are out. Then begin to remove fuses, one at a time until the light either goes out, or dims considerably. Now you have located the circuit that is the problem. Locate the component or wire or circuit that is the parasitic drain and repair it.


  3. #3
    Regular Member rich r's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Selby
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    If you've got a multimeter, stick it on the current range (you may have to move the leads to different sockets - see the instructions for it if you're not sure how to use it). Then disconnect the battery negative lead. Clip the red probe to the lead and the black probe to the battery negative terminal.

    You should get a reading of under 100mA or so assuming nothing's on (ie just the alarm, door ECU, radio memory etc). Now pull the fuse on the circuit supplying your Parrot. Does the current drop?

  4. #4
    Moderator & Events Assistant paulhb's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Wondering lonely as a cloud
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    23 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : M5

    Trim : Nothing needs adding

    Engine : 5.0 V10

    Year : 07

    Mileage : 37000

    Default

    Use a multimeter in line with the positive feed set to current with the ignition on then switch it off and see if it changes.

  5. #5
    Full Member coldo's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Scotland
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    What about the alarm system... Does it not draw current when the engine is off etc..?

  6. #6
    Regular Member marktaylor's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Thanks gents will give it a try


    Sent from my iPhone using My thumb

  7. #7
    New Member
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    MANCHESTER
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    When you are using a mutimeter on amps (A) setting you must use it in line. the vectra c takes about 5 mins to close every thing down when the doors are locked. the reading you want should be below 0.2 amps for a modern vehicle. or if you can get an amp clamp you wont need to disconect the battery. If in dout of the glove box light put your phone on video mode and shut it.
    This will let you know if it goes out.
    I had a drain on a vec c last week and it was the alarm sensors. So removing the fuse for them in the boot fuse box lost the drain.
    Sorry i forgot the fuse number 23 maybe???

    While the amp meter is fitted you can pull fuses one by one while watching the meter to see what circuit the drain is on. Then look further in to that circu it,

  8. #8
    Full Member Big Sig's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Is a very naughty boy
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Remove fuses one at a time? Get a cheap clamp meter, that way you won't need to run a multimeter in series with the load.

    Something like THIS
    Now I need a turbo to keep up!

  9. #9
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Woking
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : Vectra

    Trim : Exclusive

    Engine : 1.8vvt (Z18XER)

    Year : 2007

    Mileage : 58000

    Exclamation

    [QUOTE=Big Sig;1808244]Remove fuses one at a time? Get a cheap clamp meter, that way you won't need to run a multimeter in series with the load.

    I thought clamp meters only worked on AC but technology seems to have advanced ?

    If using a multimeter in series (Current setting) don't operate the starter or steering - it may blow your meter because of the high current.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. towbar electrical kit
    By chris1804 in forum Vectra C / Signum Car Chat
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 29th May 2011, 12:13
  2. Electrical help please
    By bensterzback in forum Vectra C / Signum Car Chat
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 8th January 2011, 15:29
  3. electrical
    By leerawlings in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 5th January 2010, 22:14
  4. electrical
    By lee324uk in forum Engine & Drivetrain
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 1st December 2008, 09:34
  5. FAO computer tech geniuses, lol...
    By Green Growler in forum General Chat
    Replies: 24
    Last Post: 23rd July 2008, 22:01

Visitors found this page by searching for:

Nobody landed on this page from a search engine, yet!

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •