User Tag List

Thanks Thanks:  1
Likes Likes:  0
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 28

Thread: TPMS Warning Light

  1. #1
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Devon
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default TPMS Warning Light

    Hi there,

    Please can anyone tell me if there is any other way to read a TPMS fault other than using Tech2? I think one of my wheel sensor batteries has gone but not sure which one!

    Also, once Iíve fitted the new wheel sensor can anyone tell me if it will need programming in, or will it be self learning as I already have TPMS fitted and activated?

    Thanks

  2. #2
    Admin & Server Techy Ian-Highlander's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Ely, Cambridgeshire
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    53 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    53 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    They're self learning and have a maximum quoted battery life of 8 to 10 years.
    "Doing a good job here is like wetting your pants in a dark suit, you get a warm feeling but nobody else notices"
    Maptun Tuned 2.0T Estate - click HERE for mods list.
    Brentwood 2012: Winner, Saturday Show. Hull 2012: Winner, Best Estate. Hull 2013: Winner, Best Estate & Runner Up, Best I.C.E

    Now Gone, bring on the Insignia (now "Teapot" Tuned)...

  3. #3
    Admin & Merchandise Manager bigmac's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Devon
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    47 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    47 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    think they activate after a certain speed 20 mph iirc

    If you have a CID a warning will pop up on screen telling you what tyre is running low, same with display in speedo window.

    The way i checked mine was to let air out of tyres one at a time and drive to petrol station and warning popped up and i just inflated tyre back up HTH

    If it was a 05+ full canbus system you would be able to look on screen and it shows psi off all tyres

    Irmscher Insignia CDTI 130

    MOD'S...Irmscher front spoiler, Irmscher mats, Irmscher door pins, Irmscher rear spoiler, Irmscher grille, Irmscher skirt & exhausts,Irmscher Roof spoiler MOD'S TO COME..Side skirts,Wheels

  4. #4
    Full Member andy.l's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Wirral / ellesmere port
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    6 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    6 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    hi m8

    if your getting a negative reading on 1 or more of the wheel sensors and
    your getting an amber light on the instruments then you do have a faulty
    sensor or it may possibly a slow puncrure but if youve checked that then
    its more likely the sensors faulty.

    when you get a new sensor fitted into the wheel then it will learn
    automatically with the reciever and function normally


    im having the same problem with my front n/s wheel sensor and i get the
    same faults as you.
    2011 insignia elite tourer 2.0 cdti 160 manual,silver

  5. #5
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Devon
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by bigmac View Post
    think they activate after a certain speed 20 mph iirc

    If you have a CID a warning will pop up on screen telling you what tyre is running low, same with display in speedo window.

    The way i checked mine was to let air out of tyres one at a time and drive to petrol station and warning popped up and i just inflated tyre back up HTH

    If it was a 05+ full canbus system you would be able to look on screen and it shows psi off all tyres
    Thanks for the info.

    The actual system is working and throws up warnings when tyre pressure drops. The problem is that the fault light indicator has lit up in the speedo. Iím pretty sure this is because one (or maybe more) of the wheel sensor batteries has given up.

    Are you saying that I can check which one is dead, by dropping pressure out of tyres one at a time and whichever one/ones do not register a low pressure warning on my CID are the sensors that need replacing?

  6. #6
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Devon
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by andy.l View Post
    hi m8

    if your getting a negative reading on 1 or more of the wheel sensors and
    your getting an amber light on the instruments then you do have a faulty
    sensor or it may possibly a slow puncrure but if youve checked that then
    its more likely the sensors faulty.

    when you get a new sensor fitted into the wheel then it will learn
    automatically with the reciever and function normally


    im having the same problem with my front n/s wheel sensor and i get the
    same faults as you.
    Thanks mate. I'm not getting a negative reading on any sensor on my CID - only the orange fault warning light on the speedo - hence I do not know which wheel sensor needs replacing.

  7. #7
    Admin & Merchandise Manager bigmac's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Devon
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    47 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    47 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Well if the sensor is faulty it wont pop up on display, if you leak some air out of each one individually and they pop up then by rights the faulty one wont display anything.

    Irmscher Insignia CDTI 130

    MOD'S...Irmscher front spoiler, Irmscher mats, Irmscher door pins, Irmscher rear spoiler, Irmscher grille, Irmscher skirt & exhausts,Irmscher Roof spoiler MOD'S TO COME..Side skirts,Wheels

  8. #8
    Full Member Caveman_nige's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    South Coast
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    3 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    3 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by bigmac View Post
    If it was a 05+ full canbus system you would be able to look on screen and it shows psi off all tyres
    Doesn't the previous version show this info then? I don't want to hijack this thread but can anybody explain the differences between the two other than the amount of receivers..
    My old Signum, the animal; she now rests in pieces in several other members cars.. https://www.vectra-c.com/forum/garag...vehicle&id=200
    The wifes vec show car, started as a standard daily driver and ended up like this. https://www.vectra-c.com/forum/garag...vehicle&id=709



  9. #9
    Admin & Merchandise Manager bigmac's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Devon
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    47 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    47 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    The CD70 CID has an option to check TPMS and it displays the 4 wheels and their psi pressure, the NCDC CID only shows up on screen if tyre pressure falls below fresh hold

    Irmscher Insignia CDTI 130

    MOD'S...Irmscher front spoiler, Irmscher mats, Irmscher door pins, Irmscher rear spoiler, Irmscher grille, Irmscher skirt & exhausts,Irmscher Roof spoiler MOD'S TO COME..Side skirts,Wheels

  10. #10
    Admin & Server Techy Ian-Highlander's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Ely, Cambridgeshire
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    53 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    53 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Caveman_nige View Post
    Doesn't the previous version show this info then? I don't want to hijack this thread but can anybody explain the differences between the two other than the amount of receivers..
    No, I've got the early TPMS system on mine, it only comes up on the GID with the pressure of the tyre that's triggered it and a small image of the car with an arrow pointing to the tyre on the lcd in the rev counter, there's no screen to show all the tyre pressures at once. I asked about this before as I would have liked that option and was told there is no way of doing it on this system. Basically if the tyres are all at correct pressures you don't see anything to do with TPMS at all and have no way of doing so.
    "Doing a good job here is like wetting your pants in a dark suit, you get a warm feeling but nobody else notices"
    Maptun Tuned 2.0T Estate - click HERE for mods list.
    Brentwood 2012: Winner, Saturday Show. Hull 2012: Winner, Best Estate. Hull 2013: Winner, Best Estate & Runner Up, Best I.C.E

    Now Gone, bring on the Insignia (now "Teapot" Tuned)...

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. warning light
    By bigcarp1953 in forum Engine & Drivetrain
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 20th August 2012, 06:41
  2. Brake Light Warning Light
    By michaelangelo in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 29th August 2011, 01:31
  3. warning light
    By J spoon in forum Introduce yourself.
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 25th March 2010, 01:02
  4. Spanner light & 3rd brake light warning?
    By simp_2.2sri in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 5th December 2008, 17:32
  5. arghh side light problems warning light
    By Gregg in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 11th February 2008, 21:58

Visitors found this page by searching for:

Nobody landed on this page from a search engine, yet!

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •