User Tag List

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Fitting aftermarket radio - does it cause problems?

  1. #1
    New Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    hinckley
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default Fitting aftermarket radio - does it cause problems?

    Hi all,

    I'm now the proud owner of a 2004 2.2dti and want to upgrade the stereo for something that has bluetooth capability and Ipod connectivity (including charging).
    My question is does removing the original unit (a CDR 2005) loose any features of the trip computer (mpg, etc)?

    Any advice gratefully received before I spend £200 on a nice unit from Halfords tomorrow!

    Cheers,

    Martin

  2. #2
    Regular Member kenp's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Kr. Hyllinge, Denmark
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    4 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : Vectra C


    Engine : 2.2 Direct

    Year : 2004

    Default

    No you wont.. only loose the radio station on the screen.

  3. #3
    New Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    hinckley
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by kenp View Post
    No you wont.. only loose the radio station on the screen.
    Good stuff - I'll pick it up then!

    Thanks for your help,

    Martin

  4. #4
    Regular Member Toe-side's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Northumberland
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    The only other pain is that the clock does not update (needs the radio to keep accuarate time). I changed my head unit so twice a year I have to plug the vauxhall head unit back in to change the time for the daylight saving hour.

  5. #5
    Regular Member MrDerv's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    North East (Beamish)
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Toe-side View Post
    The only other pain is that the clock does not update
    On the Pre-face, the TID and GID can be adjusted without the stereo, and keeps the BC functions.

    Only the facelift CD30/40/70 requires the headunit to update the time (or you can update it with opcom ), but will lose the BC functions afaik

  6. #6
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Wakefield
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Toe-side View Post
    The only other pain is that the clock does not update (needs the radio to keep accuarate time). I changed my head unit so twice a year I have to plug the vauxhall head unit back in to change the time for the daylight saving hour.
    If you have afacelift as above then you need the connects2 ctsvx002 steering harness and you can change the time without swapping them over twice a year.....

  7. #7
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Cheshire
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    my preface lift lost most of the functions, I decided to keep the std unit!

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. CD70 sat nav to aftermarket radio???
    By elite150 in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 6th April 2011, 19:30
  2. Aftermarket radio install
    By andyhu009 in forum Vectra C / Signum Car Chat
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 21st August 2009, 14:55
  3. How to acces the BC with an aftermarket radio???/
    By new2theroad in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 16th July 2009, 01:40
  4. aftermarket radio - fault light on
    By the-ferret in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 3rd April 2009, 19:52
  5. Aftermarket Radio
    By Bethan39 in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 19th September 2008, 14:25

Visitors found this page by searching for:

Nobody landed on this page from a search engine, yet!

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •