User Tag List

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 15

Thread: New clocks fitting

  1. #1
    Regular Member unikarl's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    Grimsby
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default New clocks fitting

    I was planning on selling my car and getting something else but after looking around anything decent seems hard to find so I'm going to stick with the vectra. I want to make it look a bit nicer inside as to me that's where it's really let down so I've ordered a set of clocks from an Sri of the same year. I was going to put the dial face in place of mine but just wondered if I could simple plug in the new clocks and they would just work? They are from the same year car with the same engine and a similar mileage. Anyone know?

  2. #2
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Here
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    23 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    23 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Yes they will work.

  3. #3
    Regular Member unikarl's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    Grimsby
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    That's great. Makes life easier then!

    Thanks for the quick reply.

    Do you know if the mileage is stored in the clocks or the car as the new clocks have a couple of thousand more miles on them than the originals.

    Cheers

    Karl

  4. #4
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Here
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    23 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    23 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Its stored on both the clocks and the cars ECU.

  5. #5
    Admin & Server Techy Ian-Highlander's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Ely, Cambridgeshire
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    53 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    53 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Easier to just take both sets apart and swap the front panel and dials from the SRi ones onto yours (you did buy ones with the same rev range and speed range didn't you?). I did this with my old SXi saloon, bought a second hand dash and just used the front panel from it and put it on mine. No mileage changes, no issues with the chassis number in the dash being different, as far as the car was concerned nothing had changed.
    "Doing a good job here is like wetting your pants in a dark suit, you get a warm feeling but nobody else notices"
    Maptun Tuned 2.0T Estate - click HERE for mods list.
    Brentwood 2012: Winner, Saturday Show. Hull 2012: Winner, Best Estate. Hull 2013: Winner, Best Estate & Runner Up, Best I.C.E

    Now Gone, bring on the Insignia (now "Teapot" Tuned)...

  6. #6
    Regular Member unikarl's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    Grimsby
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    I probably will just do that then. If I just fit the new clocks straight in which mileage would show?.... The cars or the clocks?

  7. #7
    Admin & Server Techy Ian-Highlander's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Ely, Cambridgeshire
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    53 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    53 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    The clocks, they have their own mileage stored and that's what they display.
    "Doing a good job here is like wetting your pants in a dark suit, you get a warm feeling but nobody else notices"
    Maptun Tuned 2.0T Estate - click HERE for mods list.
    Brentwood 2012: Winner, Saturday Show. Hull 2012: Winner, Best Estate. Hull 2013: Winner, Best Estate & Runner Up, Best I.C.E

    Now Gone, bring on the Insignia (now "Teapot" Tuned)...

  8. #8
    Regular Member Mark-R's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Dundee
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    i just got new clocks too for mine how do i set the mileage back to what it is on the car ??

  9. #9
    Admin & Server Techy Ian-Highlander's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Ely, Cambridgeshire
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    53 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    53 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    If you bought second hand clocks, then you can't. It can't even be done with Tech 2 as far as I'm aware. The only time you can change the mileage on clocks is when they are in delivery mode and first set up.

    Although I'm happy to be corrected on this...
    "Doing a good job here is like wetting your pants in a dark suit, you get a warm feeling but nobody else notices"
    Maptun Tuned 2.0T Estate - click HERE for mods list.
    Brentwood 2012: Winner, Saturday Show. Hull 2012: Winner, Best Estate. Hull 2013: Winner, Best Estate & Runner Up, Best I.C.E

    Now Gone, bring on the Insignia (now "Teapot" Tuned)...

  10. #10
    Regular Member Mark-R's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Dundee
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    damn lol all whats wrong we mine is i put blue leds in them and i just cant get the lights to work behind the mileage screen think i will fiddle more with it lol
    Last edited by Mark-R; 26th April 2012 at 12:03.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. 140mph Clocks To 170mph Clocks
    By Lean6 in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 27th September 2012, 20:48
  2. Fitting new speedo clocks
    By Swedge in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 13th August 2012, 00:33
  3. sri clocks
    By vectra2002 in forum Parts for sale
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 7th June 2009, 14:17
  4. The clocks are in!!!
    By Mark The Cabby in forum Styling
    Replies: 40
    Last Post: 5th December 2007, 08:59

Visitors found this page by searching for:

Nobody landed on this page from a search engine, yet!

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •