User Tag List

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12

Thread: VXR instrument panel?

  1. #1
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Hampshire
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default VXR instrument panel?

    Hi guys,

    I own a 2007 Vectra 2.8T V6 and want to know how hard it is to fit the VXR instrument panel inplace of the regular boring one?

    Cheers

  2. #2
    Full Member
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    South West
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    About 10 mins work. Only drawback would be mismatch of the milage between your original and the donor. But this can be changed by the right people.

    Have a look in the how to section, i am sure there is step by step guide to remove the instrument cluster.

  3. #3
    Full Member Leemarksmith's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Hanging Heaton / Batley
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    19 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : Vectra

    Trim : SRi (VXR Styling)

    Engine : Z19DTH (Re-mapped)

    Year : 04

    Mileage : 110k

    Default

    Doesn't the milage correct itself eventually as its stored in the ecu?

  4. #4
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Hampshire
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Aidi View Post
    About 10 mins work. Only drawback would be mismatch of the milage between your original and the donor. But this can be changed by the right people.

    Have a look in the how to section, i am sure there is step by step guide to remove the instrument cluster.
    The milage counter is digital and also its seperate to the dials isn't it?

  5. #5
    VIP-Member Das's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Turdsville
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    39 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : Lada

    Trim : Riva

    Engine : 6.0 V12

    Year : 1954

    Mileage : 567890987

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by leemarksmith View Post
    Doesn't the milage correct itself eventually as its stored in the ecu?
    No mate. The ECU and the speedo hold seperate mileages IYKWIM. If you car was built in Germany the ECU is actually in Kilometers. A few found out they've had clocked cars once the ECU was read, Derek was one, hoochydaddy was another IIRC, because just the speedo was altered.

  6. #6
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Hampshire
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by DasArab View Post
    No mate. The ECU and the speedo hold seperate mileages IYKWIM. If you car was built in Germany the ECU is actually in Kilometers. A few found out they've had clocked cars once the ECU was read, Derek was one, hoochydaddy was another IIRC, because just the speedo was altered.
    Damn :-(

    I dont want mimatched milage so I may just get a VXR sticker and have an LED conversion done to red.

  7. #7
    VIP-Member Das's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Turdsville
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    39 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : Lada

    Trim : Riva

    Engine : 6.0 V12

    Year : 1954

    Mileage : 567890987

    Default

    Yes but you should be able to get mileage correction done on a set of VXR clocks, dont think its that expensive. You could also just swap the needles and clock fascia over to your own speedo too. I just did this to mine with the dials from a GSi.

  8. #8
    Regular Member Knight Rider's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Motherwell
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : Vectra C SRi 1.8vvti

    Trim : Sri

    Engine : 18.vvti

    Year : 2007

    Mileage : 29,500

    Default

    I could give you the number of someone who would do it for you but it would mean a 4hr drive to Bradford for you, or post the said clocks to him for a change in mileage.

  9. #9
    Ex Vec-C Admin Ian-Highlander's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Ely, Cambridgeshire
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    61 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : Insignia Tourer

    Trim : Elite

    Engine : 2.0 CDTI (160ps)

    Year : 2010

    Default

    Or you could just buy the appropriate replacement front cover for yours http://www.xtuners.com/catalog/index...num-c-26_34_81

    Here's my pre-face ones fitted with the OPC replica panel from this company.


    They're very good quality and are a perfect fit (as long as you make sure you order the right one), downside they are quite expensive and do take about 3 weeks to arrive.
    "Doing a good job here is like wetting your pants in a dark suit, you get a warm feeling but nobody else notices"
    Maptun Tuned 2.0T Estate - click HERE for mods list.
    Brentwood 2012: Winner, Saturday Show. Hull 2012: Winner, Best Estate. Hull 2013: Winner, Best Estate & Runner Up, Best I.C.E

    Now Gone, bring on the Insignia (now "Teapot" Tuned)...

  10. #10
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Hampshire
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Ian-Highlander View Post
    Or you could just buy the appropriate replacement front cover for yours http://www.xtuners.com/catalog/index...num-c-26_34_81

    Here's my pre-face ones fitted with the OPC replica panel from this company.


    They're very good quality and are a perfect fit (as long as you make sure you order the right one), downside they are quite expensive and do take about 3 weeks to arrive.
    Thats more like it :-) They do a red one which is what I would go for. Would I need to do some LED changing?

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Instrument panel
    By copperkettle in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 7th June 2012, 15:02
  2. Instrument Panel Indications
    By jimbojetset in forum Vectra C / Signum Car Chat
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 4th July 2011, 19:09
  3. My instrument panel cluster is not working
    By bale541 in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 20
    Last Post: 20th May 2011, 11:38
  4. Instrument Panel Lighting
    By dc6839 in forum Bodywork & Interior
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 29th July 2010, 12:17
  5. Insignia Instrument Panel.
    By Maverick in forum Insignia car chat
    Replies: 15
    Last Post: 7th June 2008, 13:19

Visitors found this page by searching for:

Nobody landed on this page from a search engine, yet!

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •