User Tag List

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 23

Thread: after market switch connection question

  1. #1
    Regular Member Mads's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Ipswich,.UK
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default after market switch connection question

    right sorry again but back to the parking sensors again
    ive fitted the front sensors through a aftermarket swich with a red led on it.
    this is driving me crazy
    am i wirng this switch wrong????
    it has 3 spade connections on the back of it, i have belled out the switch and put my 2 wires on them, it doesnt light up when its turned on and despite if its in the on or off postion the front sensors work but if i take one of the wires off they dont work but yet the switch makes and breaks on them 2 spade connections???
    that doesnt make sense to me, am i meant to put a link wire onto the 3rd spade connection or something and then the led will light up too and then the switch will operate correctly????
    many thanks
    Last edited by Mads; 12th April 2012 at 20:34.

  2. #2
    Regular Member Mads's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Ipswich,.UK
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    is it working through the switch whether its on or off on connections 1 and 2 because i havent connected the ground to the 3rd terminal on the switch.
    its confusing me because if i put my meter on 1 and 2 and switch it on and off it makes and breaks so how can the sensors work, yet if i pull a wire off they dont work???

  3. #3
    Regular Member Mads's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Ipswich,.UK
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    anyone?

  4. #4
    Regular Member Mads's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Ipswich,.UK
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    this is the switch i have incase it helps, thanks
    http://www.halfords.com/webapp/wcs/s...Id_255229#tab1

  5. #5
    VIP-Member Das's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Turdsville
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    39 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : Lada

    Trim : Riva

    Engine : 6.0 V12

    Year : 1954

    Mileage : 567890987

    Default

    Thats the same switch I use for my front foglights. Id really need to check, but Im sure you need to earth the 3rd connector to make the light in the switch work. If you can wait until tomorrow ill pull my switch out and have a look.

  6. #6
    North West Regional Organiser paulvectrac's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    morecambe
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    42 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : vectra

    Trim : vxr

    Engine : 2.8 v6 turbo

    Year : 2007

    Default

    One of them needs a ground mate to light up so the two u have belled out is tue switch then the spare one to ground job done
    Vectra vxr custome remaps egr deletes dpf and diagnostic work all remaps are custome bench tuning avalible all genuine equipment PM for info

  7. #7
    Regular Member Mads's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Ipswich,.UK
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    yes mate, ive been trying to sort this for ages, but still why do my front parking sensors work if the switch is switched on or 0ff but if i pulled 1 wire wire off they dont work???

  8. #8
    Regular Member montyfert's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    wales
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    usually one connector is live feed in to the switch one out feed and a ground for the led.hope that helps.

  9. #9
    North West Regional Organiser paulvectrac's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    morecambe
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    42 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : vectra

    Trim : vxr

    Engine : 2.8 v6 turbo

    Year : 2007

    Default

    It will do that if u have connected the switch wrong mate make shore u belled it out right so switch of no cont switch it on u get cont usually there is two silver spades and one goldish mate
    Vectra vxr custome remaps egr deletes dpf and diagnostic work all remaps are custome bench tuning avalible all genuine equipment PM for info

  10. #10
    Regular Member Mads's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Ipswich,.UK
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by paulvectrac View Post
    One of them needs a ground mate to light up so the two u have belled out is tue switch then the spare one to ground job done
    oh mate, this is one of the most annoying and longest jobs ive done, so you saying if i put the 3rd connector to ground then the on/off part will work? because at the moment it doesnt matter if its on or off, the sensors still work even though when i bell 1 + 2 connections out it makes and breaks, so how can that be???

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Interior Light Connection - Question
    By countduckula55 in forum Vectra C / Signum Car Chat
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 19th January 2012, 19:21
  2. After market radio question
    By rmg1 in forum Vectra C / Signum Car Chat
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 10th May 2011, 17:22
  3. New TC switch question .
    By staverh in forum Vectra C / Signum Car Chat
    Replies: 17
    Last Post: 4th February 2011, 00:37
  4. After Market Head - FM Connection ( To amp or not to amp )
    By ccsnet in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 30th October 2008, 12:18
  5. Another TC Switch Question
    By Ben H in forum Vectra C / Signum Car Chat
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2nd November 2006, 13:56

Visitors found this page by searching for:

Nobody landed on this page from a search engine, yet!

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •