User Tag List

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12

Thread: Help installing aftermarket stereo

  1. #1
    Regular Member rjw's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    cornwall
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default Help installing aftermarket stereo

    Just been trying to install aftermarket stereo, and having difficulties with the connections, where do i need to wire the red and orange cables to as shown in my attachment, sorry poor picture taken on my antique blackberry phone!

  2. #2
    Regular Member ridgers84's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    Derby
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Red wire needs to go to an ignition live wire. All i did, as many have, is hook it up to the Black live wire going into the 12v/cig lighter. It's really easy to get to. The orange wire iirc doesn't need to be connected all it does is dim the head unit if the headlights are turned on. I didn't bother with this as you are able to dim most head units anyway if it bothers you....

  3. #3
    Regular Member lee gsi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Hampshire (Near Havant) . .Drives: Signum 1.9 CDTi
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    4 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : Signum

    Trim : Design

    Engine : 1.9 CDTi

    Year : 2005

    Default

    If the other wire is the illumination wire (To dim the headunit) wire it to the grey/yellow wire also at the cigarette lighter connection or taped near to it.

  4. #4
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Wakefield
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Hhhmmmm the pic you've taken looks like the standard iso wiring you get with the headunit, if thats the case and seeing that your avatar is a facelift vec then you would need a canbus patch lead in order to fit.

  5. #5
    North West Regional Organiser paulvectrac's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    morecambe
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    42 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : vectra

    Trim : vxr

    Engine : 2.8 v6 turbo

    Year : 2007

    Default

    Am with matt
    Vectra vxr custome remaps egr deletes dpf and diagnostic work all remaps are custome bench tuning avalible all genuine equipment PM for info

  6. #6
    Regular Member rjw's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    cornwall
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by MattDC View Post
    Hhhmmmm the pic you've taken looks like the standard iso wiring you get with the headunit, if thats the case and seeing that your avatar is a facelift vec then you would need a canbus patch lead in order to fit.
    thanks, I spoke with Halfords today, and he said I need an additional patch on the facelift, and told me Halfords recommend customers to go to vauxhall for install on all facelift vectras, because of the stereo being in the EML system, think i will leave it as it is if that is the case.

  7. #7
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Wakefield
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Halfords are talking crap.... just get the connects2 lead, ctsvx002 i think off the top of my head... plusthe lead for your stereo make to enable the steering controls.....

  8. #8
    North West Regional Organiser paulvectrac's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    morecambe
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    42 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : vectra

    Trim : vxr

    Engine : 2.8 v6 turbo

    Year : 2007

    Default

    That's bull mate all u need is quadlock to iso and get a extra live from the fag lighter for the ignition live job done
    Vectra vxr custome remaps egr deletes dpf and diagnostic work all remaps are custome bench tuning avalible all genuine equipment PM for info

  9. #9
    Regular Member rjw's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    cornwall
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by paulvectrac View Post
    That's bull mate all u need is quadlock to iso and get a extra live from the fag lighter for the ignition live job done
    Cheers mate, how do I connect the extra live to the fag lighter, and that's the extra red wire on the quadlock adaptor isn't it?, what about the illumination wire, or is that not required?

    Sent from my HTC Sensation Z710e using Tapatalk 2

  10. #10
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Wakefield
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Hhhmmm im not sure about the extra live, i have the connects2 steering and can adapter and its a simple plug and play.....

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Need help for installing aftermarket Head Unit
    By the-converter in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 7th October 2010, 16:00
  2. Help with installing aftermarket HU
    By tubby in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 18th September 2010, 18:30
  3. Aftermarket stereo
    By tubby in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 11th September 2010, 15:20
  4. Aftermarket stereo
    By tditony in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 29th November 2009, 11:39
  5. aftermarket stereo
    By stevietiger in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 11th November 2005, 11:36

Visitors found this page by searching for:

Nobody landed on this page from a search engine, yet!

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •